Banks in Philadelphia, PA

Banks in Philadelphia, PA: 252 branches on record from 38 federally insured institutions, spread over 44 ZIP codes and 19.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Philadelphia, PA

Branches on file
252
Institutions present
38
ZIP codes covered
44
Furthest two branches
19.5 mi apart

Philadelphia has 252 bank branches on file across 38 institutions, and Citizens Bank, National Association accounts for 35 of them (14% of the city’s total). 16 of those institutions keep a single office here. 18 are headquartered inside Pennsylvania.

The records carry 252 street addresses and 252 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4.1 miles from the centre point of all Philadelphia branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 19102, 19103, 19104, 19106, 19107, 19109, 19111, 19114, 19115, 19116, 19118, 19119 and 32 more.

Asian Bank, United Savings Bank, Second Federal Savings and Loan Association of Philadelphia, United Bank of Philadelphia, Hyperion Bank, Port Richmond Savings, The Philadelphia Trust Company, Tioga-Franklin Savings Bank are headquartered in Philadelphia itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in PhiladelphiaOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Citizens Bank, National Association35981Providence, RINot reported
PNC Bank, National Association342,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association314,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association195,116Columbus, OHNot reported
TD Bank, National Association191,051Wilmington, DENot reported
Bank of America, National Association163,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Fulton Bank, National Association12227Lancaster, PANot reported
Santander Bank, N.A.11559Wilmington, DENot reported
Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB1195Wilmington, DENot reported
Truist Bank91,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Univest Bank and Trust Co.751Souderton, PANot reported
Firstrust Savings Bank518Conshohocken, PANot reported
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company5976Buffalo, NYNot reported
Asian Bank33Philadelphia, PANot reported
First Citizens Community Bank344Mansfield, PANot reported
The Bank of Princeton336Princeton, NJNot reported
United Savings Bank36Philadelphia, PANot reported
Mid Penn Bank267Millersburg, PANot reported
Parke Bank28Sewell, NJNot reported
S&T Bank275Indiana, PANot reported
Second Federal Savings and Loan Association of Philadelphia22Philadelphia, PANot reported
United Bank of Philadelphia22Philadelphia, PANot reported
Abacus Federal Savings Bank15New York, NYNot reported
BNY Mellon, National Association128Pittsburgh, PANot reported
Hyperion Bank12Philadelphia, PANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Philadelphia figures actually show

Every figure on this page for Philadelphia, PA is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 252 and institutions represented of 38.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around Philadelphia, PA matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Philadelphia, PA and how it sits inside Pennsylvania against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Pennsylvania.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

Putting Philadelphia, PA next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Philadelphia, PA against Pennsylvania and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Questions people ask about Philadelphia, PA

How current is the banks in Philadelphia data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Philadelphia, PA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 252.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Pennsylvania

Methodology

The 252 branches listed for Philadelphia come from the federal branch files, filtered to Philadelphia, PA and matched to the 38 institutions we hold profiles for.

252 of the 252 Philadelphia records carry a street address and 252 carry coordinates, which is how the 19.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Citizens Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Philadelphia with 35 of the 252 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.