Banks in Clarks Summit, PA

Banks in Clarks Summit, PA: 12 branches on record from 11 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 2.7 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Clarks Summit, PA

Branches on file
12
Institutions present
11
ZIP codes covered
1
Furthest two branches
2.7 mi apart

Clarks Summit has 12 bank branches on file across 11 institutions, and Peoples Security Bank and Trust Company accounts for 2 of them (17% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 7 are headquartered inside Pennsylvania.

The records carry 12 street addresses and 12 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 0.7 miles from the centre point of all Clarks Summit branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 18411.

Citizens Savings Bank is headquartered in Clarks Summit itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Wells Fargo Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 10.0 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Clarks SummitOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Peoples Security Bank and Trust Company240Dunmore, PANot reported
Citizens Bank, National Association1981Providence, RINot reported
Citizens Savings Bank16Clarks Summit, PANot reported
Community Bank, National Association1214Canton, NYNot reported
First National Bank of Pennsylvania1363Greenville, PANot reported
PNC Bank, National Association12,404Wilmington, DENot reported
PS Bank110Wyalusing, PANot reported
The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank122Dunmore, PANot reported
The Honesdale National Bank114Honesdale, PANot reported
Wayne Bank133Honesdale, PANot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association14,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Clarks Summit numbers

Every figure on this page for Clarks Summit, PA is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 12 and institutions represented of 11.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Turning the Clarks Summit, PA data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Clarks Summit, PA and how it sits inside Pennsylvania against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Pennsylvania.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

How Clarks Summit, PA compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Clarks Summit, PA against Pennsylvania and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Common questions

How current is the banks in Clarks Summit data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Clarks Summit, PA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 12.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Pennsylvania

Methodology

The 12 branches listed for Clarks Summit come from the federal branch files, filtered to Clarks Summit, PA and matched to the 11 institutions we hold profiles for.

12 of the 12 Clarks Summit records carry a street address and 12 carry coordinates, which is how the 2.7-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Peoples Security Bank and Trust Company is the largest presence in Clarks Summit with 2 of the 12 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.