Banks in Cary, NC

Banks in Cary, NC: 44 branches on record from 17 federally insured institutions, spread over 4 ZIP codes and 11.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Cary, NC

Branches on file
44
Institutions present
17
ZIP codes covered
4
Furthest two branches
11.2 mi apart

Cary has 44 bank branches on file across 17 institutions, and Truist Bank accounts for 6 of them (14% of the city’s total). 8 of those institutions keep a single office here. 7 are headquartered inside North Carolina.

The records carry 44 street addresses and 44 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.7 miles from the centre point of all Cary branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 27511, 27513, 27518, 27519.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in CaryOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Truist Bank61,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association64,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association51,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association55,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Bank of America, National Association43,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
First Horizon Bank3414Memphis, TNNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association32,404Wilmington, DENot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company2517Raleigh, NCNot reported
TowneBank281Portsmouth, VANot reported
First Bank1114Southern Pines, NCNot reported
First Carolina Bank19Rocky Mount, NCNot reported
First National Bank of Pennsylvania1363Greenville, PANot reported
HomeTrust Bank133Asheville, NCNot reported
Pinnacle Bank1421Nashville, TNNot reported
The Central Trust Bank1166Jefferson City, MONot reported
The Fidelity Bank159Fuquay Varina, NCNot reported
United Community Bank1192Greenville, SCNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Cary data on this page

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Cary, NC are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 44 and institutions represented of 17.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Cary, NC matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Cary, NC and how it sits inside North Carolina against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of North Carolina.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Where Cary, NC sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Cary, NC against North Carolina and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Common questions

How current is the banks in Cary data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Cary, NC?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 44.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in North Carolina

Methodology

The 44 branches listed for Cary come from the federal branch files, filtered to Cary, NC and matched to the 17 institutions we hold profiles for.

44 of the 44 Cary records carry a street address and 44 carry coordinates, which is how the 11.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Truist Bank is the largest presence in Cary with 6 of the 44 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.