Banks in Albuquerque, NM

Banks in Albuquerque, NM: 103 branches on record from 26 federally insured institutions, spread over 16 ZIP codes and 23.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Albuquerque, NM

Branches on file
103
Institutions present
26
ZIP codes covered
16
Furthest two branches
23.2 mi apart

Albuquerque has 103 bank branches on file across 26 institutions, and BMO Bank National Association accounts for 14 of them (14% of the city’s total). 14 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside New Mexico.

The records carry 103 street addresses and 103 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4 miles from the centre point of all Albuquerque branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 87102, 87104, 87105, 87106, 87107, 87108, 87109, 87110, 87111, 87112, 87113, 87114 and 4 more.

DSRM National Bank, Main Bank, Southwest Capital Bank are headquartered in Albuquerque itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in AlbuquerqueOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
BMO Bank National Association14967Chicago, ILNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association144,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of America, National Association103,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
BOKF, National Association10115Tulsa, OKNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association81,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association75,116Columbus, OHNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association72,404Wilmington, DENot reported
First National Bank Texas6366Killeen, TXNot reported
UMB Bank, National Association6199Kansas City, MONot reported
WaFd Bank3177Seattle, WANot reported
First American Bank221Artesia, NMNot reported
Sunflower Bank, National Association2101Dallas, TXNot reported
Capra Bank14Dubuque, IANot reported
Century Bank19Santa Fe, NMNot reported
Citizens Bank of Las Cruces19Las Cruces, NMNot reported
DSRM National Bank11Albuquerque, NMNot reported
Enterprise Bank & Trust157Clayton, MONot reported
First American Trust, FSB111Santa Ana, CANot reported
First New Mexico Bank of Silver City14Silver City, NMNot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company1517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Main Bank11Albuquerque, NMNot reported
NBH Bank195Greenwood Village, CONot reported
Southwest Capital Bank16Albuquerque, NMNot reported
TBK BANK, SSB163Dallas, TXNot reported
United Business Bank134Walnut Creek, CANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Albuquerque data on this page

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Albuquerque, NM are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 103 and institutions represented of 26.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Albuquerque, NM matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Albuquerque, NM and how it sits inside New Mexico against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of New Mexico.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

How Albuquerque, NM compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Albuquerque, NM against New Mexico and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Questions people ask about Albuquerque, NM

How current is the banks in Albuquerque data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Albuquerque, NM?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 103.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in New Mexico

Methodology

The 103 branches listed for Albuquerque come from the federal branch files, filtered to Albuquerque, NM and matched to the 26 institutions we hold profiles for.

103 of the 103 Albuquerque records carry a street address and 103 carry coordinates, which is how the 23.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

BMO Bank National Association is the largest presence in Albuquerque with 14 of the 103 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.