Banks in Duluth, GA
Banks in Duluth, GA: 41 branches on record from 27 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 8.7 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Duluth, GA
Duluth has 41 bank branches on file across 27 institutions, and Bank of America, National Association accounts for 5 of them (12% of the city’s total). 21 of those institutions keep a single office here. 4 are headquartered inside Georgia.
The records carry 41 street addresses and 41 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.4 miles from the centre point of all Duluth branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 30096, 30097.
PromiseOne Bank is headquartered in Duluth itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Duluth | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of America, National Association | 5 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 4 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Fifth Third Bank, National Association | 3 | 1,521 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 3 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 3 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 2 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Bank of Hope | 1 | 78 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| Capital City Bank | 1 | 67 | Tallahassee, FL | Not reported |
| East West Bank | 1 | 96 | Pasadena, CA | Not reported |
| First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company | 1 | 517 | Raleigh, NC | Not reported |
| Georgia Banking Company | 1 | 10 | Atlanta, GA | Not reported |
| Hanmi Bank | 1 | 34 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| Metro City Bank | 1 | 27 | Doraville, GA | Not reported |
| New Millennium Bank | 1 | 9 | Fort Lee, NJ | Not reported |
| Oconee State Bank | 1 | 7 | Watkinsville, GA | Not reported |
| Open Bank | 1 | 17 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| Pinnacle Bank | 1 | 421 | Nashville, TN | Not reported |
| PromiseOne Bank | 1 | 10 | Duluth, GA | Not reported |
| Regions Bank | 1 | 1,254 | Birmingham, AL | Not reported |
| Renasant Bank | 1 | 265 | Tupelo, MS | Not reported |
| Shinhan Bank America | 1 | 14 | New York, NY | Not reported |
| United Bank | 1 | 235 | Fairfax, VA | Not reported |
| United Community Bank | 1 | 192 | Greenville, SC | Not reported |
| US Metro Bank | 1 | 11 | Garden Grove, CA | Not reported |
| Wallis Bank | 1 | 16 | Wallis, TX | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
What the banks in Duluth figures actually show
The numbers published here for Duluth, GA are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 41 and institutions represented of 27.
Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Duluth, GA and how it sits inside Georgia against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Georgia.
A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
Putting Duluth, GA next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Duluth, GA against Georgia and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
Frequently asked questions about Duluth, GA
How current is the banks in Duluth data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Duluth, GA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 41.
How we built this page
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Georgia
Methodology
The 41 branches listed for Duluth come from the federal branch files, filtered to Duluth, GA and matched to the 27 institutions we hold profiles for.
41 of the 41 Duluth records carry a street address and 41 carry coordinates, which is how the 8.7-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Bank of America, National Association is the largest presence in Duluth with 5 of the 41 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.