Banks in Fort Myers, FL

Banks in Fort Myers, FL: 75 branches on record from 27 federally insured institutions, spread over 8 ZIP codes and 21.7 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Fort Myers, FL

Branches on file
75
Institutions present
27
ZIP codes covered
8
Furthest two branches
21.7 mi apart

Fort Myers has 75 bank branches on file across 27 institutions, and Wells Fargo Bank, National Association accounts for 9 of them (12% of the city’s total). 15 of those institutions keep a single office here. 7 are headquartered inside Florida.

The records carry 75 street addresses and 75 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3.8 miles from the centre point of all Fort Myers branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 33901, 33905, 33907, 33908, 33912, 33913, 33919, 33966.

Edison National Bank, Gulf Coast Business Bank are headquartered in Fort Myers itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Fort MyersOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association94,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association81,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Truist Bank71,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Bank of America, National Association63,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Sanibel Captiva Community Bank68Sanibel, FLNot reported
First Horizon Bank5414Memphis, TNNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association55,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Regions Bank41,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Bank OZK3272Little Rock, ARNot reported
Commerce Bank3153Kansas City, MONot reported
Edison National Bank24Fort Myers, FLNot reported
The Northern Trust Company260Chicago, ILNot reported
American Momentum Bank130College Station, TXNot reported
BankUnited, National Association158Miami Lakes, FLNot reported
Busey Bank181Champaign, ILNot reported
Centennial Bank1236Conway, ARNot reported
Cogent Bank111Orlando, FLNot reported
EverBank, National Association142Jacksonville, FLNot reported
First Bank17Clewiston, FLNot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company1517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Gulf Coast Business Bank11Fort Myers, FLNot reported
KeyBank National Association1891Cleveland, OHNot reported
Pinnacle Bank1421Nashville, TNNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association12,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Third Federal Savings and Loan Association of Cleveland135Cleveland, OHNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Fort Myers figures actually show

Every figure on this page for Fort Myers, FL is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 75 and institutions represented of 27.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Fort Myers, FL and how it sits inside Florida against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Florida.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

Putting Fort Myers, FL next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Fort Myers, FL against Florida and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Frequently asked questions about Fort Myers, FL

How current is the banks in Fort Myers data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Fort Myers, FL?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 75.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Florida

Methodology

The 75 branches listed for Fort Myers come from the federal branch files, filtered to Fort Myers, FL and matched to the 27 institutions we hold profiles for.

75 of the 75 Fort Myers records carry a street address and 75 carry coordinates, which is how the 21.7-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Wells Fargo Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Fort Myers with 9 of the 75 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.