Banks in Denver, CO
Banks in Denver, CO: 164 branches on record from 47 federally insured institutions, spread over 30 ZIP codes and 20 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Denver, CO
Denver has 164 bank branches on file across 47 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 19 of them (12% of the city’s total). 23 of those institutions keep a single office here. 11 are headquartered inside Colorado.
The records carry 164 street addresses and 164 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3.7 miles from the centre point of all Denver branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 80123, 80202, 80203, 80204, 80205, 80206, 80207, 80209, 80210, 80211, 80212, 80216 and 18 more.
ANB Bank, First Western Trust Bank, Bankers' Bank of the West, Fortis Bank, Native American Bank, National Association, Transact Bank, National Association, Young Americans Bank are headquartered in Denver itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Denver | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 19 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 18 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 15 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 12 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| KeyBank National Association | 9 | 891 | Cleveland, OH | Not reported |
| The Huntington National Bank | 9 | 1,505 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| BMO Bank National Association | 8 | 967 | Chicago, IL | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 7 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| UMB Bank, National Association | 7 | 199 | Kansas City, MO | Not reported |
| Zions Bancorporation, N.A. | 6 | 412 | Salt Lake City, UT | Not reported |
| Academy Bank, National Association | 3 | 80 | Kansas City, MO | Not reported |
| Alpine Bank | 3 | 42 | Glenwood Springs, CO | Not reported |
| BOKF, National Association | 3 | 115 | Tulsa, OK | Not reported |
| ANB Bank | 2 | 32 | Denver, CO | Not reported |
| Bank of Colorado | 2 | 59 | Fort Collins, CO | Not reported |
| Busey Bank | 2 | 81 | Champaign, IL | Not reported |
| First Interstate Bank | 2 | 240 | Billings, MT | Not reported |
| First Western Trust Bank | 2 | 15 | Denver, CO | Not reported |
| Glacier Bank | 2 | 258 | Kalispell, MT | Not reported |
| InBank | 2 | 15 | Raton, NM | Not reported |
| MidFirst Bank | 2 | 94 | Oklahoma City, OK | Not reported |
| NBH Bank | 2 | 95 | Greenwood Village, CO | Not reported |
| SouthState Bank, National Association | 2 | 363 | Winter Haven, FL | Not reported |
| Sunflower Bank, National Association | 2 | 101 | Dallas, TX | Not reported |
| Austin Capital Bank SSB | 1 | 15 | Austin, TX | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
How to read the banks in Denver numbers
The numbers published here for Denver, CO are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 164 and institutions represented of 47.
Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Denver, CO and how it sits inside Colorado against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Colorado.
Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.
The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.
Where Denver, CO sits against the wider market
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Denver, CO against Colorado and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
Questions people ask about Denver, CO
How current is the banks in Denver data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Denver, CO?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 164.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Colorado
Methodology
The 164 branches listed for Denver come from the federal branch files, filtered to Denver, CO and matched to the 47 institutions we hold profiles for.
164 of the 164 Denver records carry a street address and 164 carry coordinates, which is how the 20-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Denver with 19 of the 164 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.