Banks in Fort Collins, CO

Banks in Fort Collins, CO: 54 branches on record from 28 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 9.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Fort Collins, CO

Branches on file
54
Institutions present
28
ZIP codes covered
5
Furthest two branches
9.4 mi apart

Fort Collins has 54 bank branches on file across 28 institutions, and First National Bank of Omaha accounts for 6 of them (11% of the city’s total). 17 of those institutions keep a single office here. 10 are headquartered inside Colorado.

The records carry 54 street addresses and 54 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.2 miles from the centre point of all Fort Collins branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 80521, 80524, 80525, 80526, 80528.

Bank of Colorado, Verus Bank of Commerce are headquartered in Fort Collins itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Fort CollinsOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
First National Bank of Omaha6122Omaha, NENot reported
PNC Bank, National Association52,404Wilmington, DENot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association45,116Columbus, OHNot reported
SouthState Bank, National Association4363Winter Haven, FLNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association44,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of Colorado359Fort Collins, CONot reported
U.S. Bank National Association31,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Adams Bank & Trust223Ogallala, NENot reported
First Interstate Bank2240Billings, MTNot reported
Glacier Bank2258Kalispell, MTNot reported
KeyBank National Association2891Cleveland, OHNot reported
Academy Bank, National Association180Kansas City, MONot reported
Alpine Bank142Glenwood Springs, CONot reported
ANB Bank132Denver, CONot reported
Bank of America, National Association13,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
BMO Bank National Association1967Chicago, ILNot reported
Equitable Savings and Loan Association110Sterling, CONot reported
Farmers Bank12Ault, CONot reported
First National Bank119Fort Pierre, SDNot reported
First Western Trust Bank115Denver, CONot reported
FirsTier Bank112Kimball, NENot reported
Gateway First Bank115Jenks, OKNot reported
Mountain Valley Bank17Walden, CONot reported
NBH Bank195Greenwood Village, CONot reported
Points West Community Bank123Windsor, CONot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Fort Collins figures actually show

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Fort Collins, CO are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 54 and institutions represented of 28.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Turning the Fort Collins, CO data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Fort Collins, CO and how it sits inside Colorado against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Colorado.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

How Fort Collins, CO compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Fort Collins, CO against Colorado and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Questions people ask about Fort Collins, CO

How current is the banks in Fort Collins data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Fort Collins, CO?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 54.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Colorado

Methodology

The 54 branches listed for Fort Collins come from the federal branch files, filtered to Fort Collins, CO and matched to the 28 institutions we hold profiles for.

54 of the 54 Fort Collins records carry a street address and 54 carry coordinates, which is how the 9.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

First National Bank of Omaha is the largest presence in Fort Collins with 6 of the 54 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.