Banks in El Monte, CA
Banks in El Monte, CA: 14 branches on record from 7 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 3.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in El Monte, CA
El Monte has 14 bank branches on file across 7 institutions, and East West Bank accounts for 3 of them (21% of the city’s total). 2 of those institutions keep a single office here. 2 are headquartered inside California.
The records carry 14 street addresses and 14 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1 miles from the centre point of all El Monte branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 91731, 91732.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in El Monte | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| East West Bank | 3 | 96 | Pasadena, CA | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 3 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 2 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 2 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 2 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Cathay Bank | 1 | 66 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| Citibank, National Association | 1 | 665 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
What the banks in El Monte figures actually show
The numbers published here for El Monte, CA are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 14 and institutions represented of 7.
Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish El Monte, CA and how it sits inside California against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of California.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.
How El Monte, CA compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark El Monte, CA against California and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
Common questions
How current is the banks in El Monte data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for El Monte, CA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 14.
How we built this page
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in California
Methodology
The 14 branches listed for El Monte come from the federal branch files, filtered to El Monte, CA and matched to the 7 institutions we hold profiles for.
14 of the 14 El Monte records carry a street address and 14 carry coordinates, which is how the 3.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
East West Bank is the largest presence in El Monte with 3 of the 14 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.