ATM in Columbus, OH
ATM in Columbus, OH: 144 branch locations on record from 28 federally insured institutions, spread over 27 ZIP codes and 18.7 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Columbus, OH
Columbus has 144 bank branches on file across 28 institutions, and The Huntington National Bank accounts for 24 of them (17% of the city’s total). 11 of those institutions keep a single office here. 17 are headquartered inside Ohio.
The records carry 144 street addresses and 144 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 5.1 miles from the centre point of all Columbus branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 43016, 43081, 43201, 43202, 43203, 43204, 43206, 43207, 43209, 43210, 43211, 43212 and 15 more.
The Huntington National Bank, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association, CFBank, National Association, Adelphi Bank, Erebor Bank, N.A., Nationwide Trust Company, FSB are headquartered in Columbus itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Columbus | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Huntington National Bank | 24 | 1,505 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 21 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 17 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Fifth Third Bank, National Association | 15 | 1,521 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 12 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 9 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| KeyBank National Association | 8 | 891 | Cleveland, OH | Not reported |
| First Merchants Bank | 6 | 134 | Muncie, IN | Not reported |
| German American Bank | 5 | 96 | Jasper, IN | Not reported |
| CFBank, National Association | 2 | 7 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| First Commonwealth Bank | 2 | 128 | Indiana, PA | Not reported |
| First Financial Bank | 2 | 164 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| The Park National Bank | 2 | 112 | Newark, OH | Not reported |
| Union Savings Bank | 2 | 39 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| United Midwest Savings Bank, National Association | 2 | 6 | Degraff, OH | Not reported |
| WesBanco Bank, Inc. | 2 | 219 | Wheeling, WV | Not reported |
| Woodforest National Bank | 2 | 741 | The Woodlands, TX | Not reported |
| Adelphi Bank | 1 | 1 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Bank of England | 1 | 145 | England, AR | Not reported |
| Buckeye State Bank | 1 | 6 | Powell, OH | Not reported |
| Civista Bank | 1 | 42 | Sandusky, OH | Not reported |
| CNB Bank | 1 | 81 | Clearfield, PA | Not reported |
| Erebor Bank, N.A. | 1 | 1 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| First Bank Midwest | 1 | 26 | Frankfort, IN | Not reported |
| First Bank of Central Ohio | 1 | 3 | Worthington, OH | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.
If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a national ATM database?
No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.
How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?
Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.
How to read the atm in Columbus numbers
Every figure on this page for Columbus, OH is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 144 and institutions represented of 28.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
Turning the Columbus, OH data into a decision
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Columbus, OH and how it sits inside Ohio against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Ohio.
A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.
The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.
Where Columbus, OH sits against the wider market
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Columbus, OH against Ohio and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.
Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
Common questions
How current is the atm in Columbus data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Columbus, OH?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 144.
How we built this page
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Ohio
Methodology
The 144 branch locations listed for Columbus come from the federal branch files, filtered to Columbus, OH and matched to the 28 institutions we hold profiles for.
144 of the 144 Columbus records carry a street address and 144 carry coordinates, which is how the 18.7-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
The Huntington National Bank is the largest presence in Columbus with 24 of the 144 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.