ATM in Thornton, CO

ATM in Thornton, CO: 23 branch locations on record from 13 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 9.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Thornton, CO

Branches on file
23
Institutions present
13
ZIP codes covered
5
Furthest two branches
9.5 mi apart

Thornton has 23 bank branches on file across 13 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 3 of them (13% of the city’s total). 6 of those institutions keep a single office here. 3 are headquartered inside Colorado.

The records carry 23 street addresses and 23 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.4 miles from the centre point of all Thornton branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 80023, 80229, 80233, 80241, 80602.

North Valley Bank is headquartered in Thornton itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in ThorntonOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association35,116Columbus, OHNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association32,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association34,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
BMO Bank National Association2967Chicago, ILNot reported
KeyBank National Association2891Cleveland, OHNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association21,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Academy Bank, National Association180Kansas City, MONot reported
Bank of Colorado159Fort Collins, CONot reported
North Valley Bank12Thornton, CONot reported
PB&T Bank118Pueblo, CONot reported
The Huntington National Bank11,505Columbus, OHNot reported
Zions Bancorporation, N.A.1412Salt Lake City, UTNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

Reading the atm in Thornton data on this page

The numbers published here for Thornton, CO are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 23 and institutions represented of 13.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Thornton, CO matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Thornton, CO and how it sits inside Colorado against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Colorado.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Where Thornton, CO sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Thornton, CO against Colorado and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Common questions

How current is the atm in Thornton data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Thornton, CO?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 23.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Colorado

Methodology

The 23 branch locations listed for Thornton come from the federal branch files, filtered to Thornton, CO and matched to the 13 institutions we hold profiles for.

23 of the 23 Thornton records carry a street address and 23 carry coordinates, which is how the 9.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Thornton with 3 of the 23 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.