Banks in Sherman, TX
Banks in Sherman, TX: 17 branches on record from 14 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Sherman, TX
Sherman has 17 bank branches on file across 14 institutions, and First United Bank and Trust Company accounts for 4 of them (24% of the city’s total). 13 of those institutions keep a single office here. 5 are headquartered inside Texas.
The records carry 17 street addresses and 17 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 0.9 miles from the centre point of all Sherman branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 75090, 75092.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Sherman | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First United Bank and Trust Company | 4 | 85 | Durant, OK | Not reported |
| Ameristate Bank | 1 | 7 | Atoka, OK | Not reported |
| BOKF, National Association | 1 | 115 | Tulsa, OK | Not reported |
| First National Bank Texas | 1 | 366 | Killeen, TX | Not reported |
| First State Bank | 1 | 14 | Gainesville, TX | Not reported |
| First Texas National Bank | 1 | 2 | Floydada, TX | Not reported |
| First Texoma National Bank | 1 | 5 | Durant, OK | Not reported |
| Great Plains National Bank | 1 | 25 | Elk City, OK | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 1 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Legend Bank, N.A. | 1 | 15 | Bowie, TX | Not reported |
| Simmons Bank | 1 | 227 | Pine Bluff, AR | Not reported |
| SouthState Bank, National Association | 1 | 363 | Winter Haven, FL | Not reported |
| The Huntington National Bank | 1 | 1,505 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Woodforest National Bank | 1 | 741 | The Woodlands, TX | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
Reading the banks in Sherman data on this page
The numbers published here for Sherman, TX are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 17 and institutions represented of 14.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
Why the spread around Sherman, TX matters
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Sherman, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.
A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
How Sherman, TX compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Sherman, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
Questions people ask about Sherman, TX
How current is the banks in Sherman data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Sherman, TX?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 17.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Texas
Methodology
The 17 branches listed for Sherman come from the federal branch files, filtered to Sherman, TX and matched to the 14 institutions we hold profiles for.
17 of the 17 Sherman records carry a street address and 17 carry coordinates, which is how the 5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
First United Bank and Trust Company is the largest presence in Sherman with 4 of the 17 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.