Banks in Mcallen, TX

Banks in Mcallen, TX: 60 branches on record from 19 federally insured institutions, spread over 4 ZIP codes and 6.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Mcallen, TX

Branches on file
60
Institutions present
19
ZIP codes covered
4
Furthest two branches
6.5 mi apart

Mcallen has 60 bank branches on file across 19 institutions, and International Bank of Commerce accounts for 11 of them (18% of the city’s total). 6 of those institutions keep a single office here. 15 are headquartered inside Texas.

The records carry 60 street addresses and 60 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2 miles from the centre point of all Mcallen branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 78501, 78502, 78503, 78504.

Rio Bank, Texas National Bank, Bank of South Texas, Greater State Bank are headquartered in Mcallen itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in McallenOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
International Bank of Commerce1141Brownsville, TXNot reported
Lone Star National Bank1038Pharr, TXNot reported
Vantage Bank Texas523San Antonio, TXNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association45,116Columbus, OHNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association42,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Rio Bank424Mcallen, TXNot reported
Frost Bank3217San Antonio, TXNot reported
Texas Regional Bank337Harlingen, TXNot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Falcon International Bank219Laredo, TXNot reported
PlainsCapital Bank257University Park, TXNot reported
Texas National Bank214Mcallen, TXNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association24,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of South Texas18Mcallen, TXNot reported
First Community Bank19San Benito, TXNot reported
Freedom Bank16Alamo, TXNot reported
Greater State Bank16Mcallen, TXNot reported
International Bank of Commerce179Laredo, TXNot reported
Texas Community Bank111Laredo, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Mcallen figures actually show

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Mcallen, TX are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 60 and institutions represented of 19.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around Mcallen, TX matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Mcallen, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Putting Mcallen, TX next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Mcallen, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Frequently asked questions about Mcallen, TX

How current is the banks in Mcallen data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Mcallen, TX?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 60.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Texas

Methodology

The 60 branches listed for Mcallen come from the federal branch files, filtered to Mcallen, TX and matched to the 19 institutions we hold profiles for.

60 of the 60 Mcallen records carry a street address and 60 carry coordinates, which is how the 6.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

International Bank of Commerce is the largest presence in Mcallen with 11 of the 60 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.