Banks in Lufkin, TX

Banks in Lufkin, TX: 19 branches on record from 11 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 3.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Lufkin, TX

Branches on file
19
Institutions present
11
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
3.4 mi apart

Lufkin has 19 bank branches on file across 11 institutions, and Commercial Bank of Texas, National Association accounts for 3 of them (16% of the city’s total). 5 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside Texas.

The records carry 19 street addresses and 19 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.2 miles from the centre point of all Lufkin branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 75901, 75904.

Angelina Savings Bank, SSB is headquartered in Lufkin itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in LufkinOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Commercial Bank of Texas, National Association323Nacogdoches, TXNot reported
Southside Bank357Tyler, TXNot reported
BOM Bank226Natchitoches, LANot reported
Regions Bank21,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
The Huntington National Bank21,505Columbus, OHNot reported
UBank28Huntington, TXNot reported
Angelina Savings Bank, SSB11Lufkin, TXNot reported
Austin Bank, Texas National Association139Jacksonville, TXNot reported
First National Bank Texas1366Killeen, TXNot reported
Texas National Bank of Jacksonville19Jacksonville, TXNot reported
VeraBank, National Association142Henderson, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Lufkin numbers

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Lufkin, TX are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 19 and institutions represented of 11.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Turning the Lufkin, TX data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Lufkin, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Putting Lufkin, TX next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Lufkin, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Questions people ask about Lufkin, TX

How current is the banks in Lufkin data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Lufkin, TX?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 19.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Texas

Methodology

The 19 branches listed for Lufkin come from the federal branch files, filtered to Lufkin, TX and matched to the 11 institutions we hold profiles for.

19 of the 19 Lufkin records carry a street address and 19 carry coordinates, which is how the 3.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Commercial Bank of Texas, National Association is the largest presence in Lufkin with 3 of the 19 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.