Banks in Laredo, TX

Banks in Laredo, TX: 53 branches on record from 10 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 11 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Laredo, TX

Branches on file
53
Institutions present
10
ZIP codes covered
5
Furthest two branches
11 mi apart

Laredo has 53 bank branches on file across 10 institutions, and International Bank of Commerce accounts for 17 of them (32% of the city’s total). 6 are headquartered inside Texas.

The records carry 53 street addresses and 53 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.6 miles from the centre point of all Laredo branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 78040, 78041, 78043, 78045, 78046.

International Bank of Commerce, Falcon International Bank, Commerce Bank, Texas Community Bank are headquartered in Laredo itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in LaredoOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
International Bank of Commerce1779Laredo, TXNot reported
Falcon International Bank719Laredo, TXNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association72,404Wilmington, DENot reported
First National Bank Texas6366Killeen, TXNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association44,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Commerce Bank33Laredo, TXNot reported
Texas Community Bank311Laredo, TXNot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association25,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Vantage Bank Texas223San Antonio, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Laredo numbers

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Laredo, TX are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 53 and institutions represented of 10.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Laredo, TX matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Laredo, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Putting Laredo, TX next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Laredo, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Questions people ask about Laredo, TX

How current is the banks in Laredo data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Laredo, TX?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 53.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Texas

Methodology

The 53 branches listed for Laredo come from the federal branch files, filtered to Laredo, TX and matched to the 10 institutions we hold profiles for.

53 of the 53 Laredo records carry a street address and 53 carry coordinates, which is how the 11-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

International Bank of Commerce is the largest presence in Laredo with 17 of the 53 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.