Banks in Edinburg, TX

Banks in Edinburg, TX: 22 branches on record from 15 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 7.1 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Edinburg, TX

Branches on file
22
Institutions present
15
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
7.1 mi apart

Edinburg has 22 bank branches on file across 15 institutions, and International Bank of Commerce accounts for 4 of them (18% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 11 are headquartered inside Texas.

The records carry 22 street addresses and 22 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.4 miles from the centre point of all Edinburg branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 78539, 78542.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in EdinburgOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
International Bank of Commerce441Brownsville, TXNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association25,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Lone Star National Bank238Pharr, TXNot reported
Texas Regional Bank237Harlingen, TXNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association24,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of America, National Association13,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Bank of South Texas18Mcallen, TXNot reported
First National Bank Texas1366Killeen, TXNot reported
Freedom Bank16Alamo, TXNot reported
Greater State Bank16Mcallen, TXNot reported
PlainsCapital Bank157University Park, TXNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association12,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Rio Bank124Mcallen, TXNot reported
Texas National Bank114Mcallen, TXNot reported
Vantage Bank Texas123San Antonio, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Edinburg numbers

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Edinburg, TX are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 22 and institutions represented of 15.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around Edinburg, TX matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Edinburg, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Where Edinburg, TX sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Edinburg, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Questions people ask about Edinburg, TX

How current is the banks in Edinburg data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Edinburg, TX?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 22.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Texas

Methodology

The 22 branches listed for Edinburg come from the federal branch files, filtered to Edinburg, TX and matched to the 15 institutions we hold profiles for.

22 of the 22 Edinburg records carry a street address and 22 carry coordinates, which is how the 7.1-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

International Bank of Commerce is the largest presence in Edinburg with 4 of the 22 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.