Banks in Conroe, TX

Banks in Conroe, TX: 42 branches on record from 20 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 13.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Conroe, TX

Branches on file
42
Institutions present
20
ZIP codes covered
5
Furthest two branches
13.4 mi apart

Conroe has 42 bank branches on file across 20 institutions, and Woodforest National Bank accounts for 8 of them (19% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 9 are headquartered inside Texas.

The records carry 42 street addresses and 42 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.5 miles from the centre point of all Conroe branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 77301, 77303, 77304, 77384, 77385.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in ConroeOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Woodforest National Bank8741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
First National Bank Texas6366Killeen, TXNot reported
Bank of America, National Association33,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
First Financial Bank383Abilene, TXNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association25,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Plains State Bank28Humble, TXNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association22,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Regions Bank21,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association24,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Zions Bancorporation, N.A.2412Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
BOM Bank126Natchitoches, LANot reported
Frost Bank1217San Antonio, TXNot reported
Glacier Bank1258Kalispell, MTNot reported
Hancock Whitney Bank1193Gulfport, MSNot reported
Investar Bank, National Association138Baton Rouge, LANot reported
Prosperity Bank1400El Campo, TXNot reported
Simmons Bank1227Pine Bluff, ARNot reported
Texas First Bank128Texas City, TXNot reported
Third Coast Bank122Humble, TXNot reported
VeraBank, National Association142Henderson, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Conroe data on this page

The numbers published here for Conroe, TX are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 42 and institutions represented of 20.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Why the spread around Conroe, TX matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Conroe, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

Putting Conroe, TX next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Conroe, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Questions people ask about Conroe, TX

How current is the banks in Conroe data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Conroe, TX?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 42.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Texas

Methodology

The 42 branches listed for Conroe come from the federal branch files, filtered to Conroe, TX and matched to the 20 institutions we hold profiles for.

42 of the 42 Conroe records carry a street address and 42 carry coordinates, which is how the 13.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Woodforest National Bank is the largest presence in Conroe with 8 of the 42 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.