Banks in Springfield, MO

Banks in Springfield, MO: 97 branches on record from 32 federally insured institutions, spread over 7 ZIP codes and 9.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Springfield, MO

Branches on file
97
Institutions present
32
ZIP codes covered
7
Furthest two branches
9.2 mi apart

Springfield has 97 bank branches on file across 32 institutions, and Great Southern Bank accounts for 12 of them (12% of the city’s total). 13 of those institutions keep a single office here. 22 are headquartered inside Missouri.

The records carry 97 street addresses and 97 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.7 miles from the centre point of all Springfield branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 65802, 65803, 65804, 65806, 65807, 65809, 65810.

Guaranty Bank, Mid-Missouri Bank, Omb Bank, Oakstar Bank, Arlo Bank, State Bank of Southwest Missouri are headquartered in Springfield itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in SpringfieldOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Great Southern Bank12107Reeds Spring, MONot reported
The Central Trust Bank11166Jefferson City, MONot reported
Arvest Bank6227Fayetteville, ARNot reported
Guaranty Bank613Springfield, MONot reported
Academy Bank, National Association580Kansas City, MONot reported
U.S. Bank National Association51,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Bank of America, National Association43,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Commerce Bank4153Kansas City, MONot reported
Mid-Missouri Bank414Springfield, MONot reported
Simmons Bank4227Pine Bluff, ARNot reported
The Huntington National Bank41,505Columbus, OHNot reported
Omb Bank310Springfield, MONot reported
Southern Bank368Poplar Bluff, MONot reported
The Bank of Missouri332Perryville, MONot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association25,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Legacy Bank & Trust Company210Mountain Grove, MONot reported
Oakstar Bank227Springfield, MONot reported
Phelps County Bank26Rolla, MONot reported
UMB Bank, National Association2199Kansas City, MONot reported
Arlo Bank11Springfield, MONot reported
ENCORE BANK118Little Rock, ARNot reported
First Midwest Bank of Dexter18Dexter, MONot reported
Four States Bank14Carthage, MONot reported
Hawthorn Bank118Jefferson City, MONot reported
O'Bannon Banking Company15Buffalo, MONot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Springfield figures actually show

Every figure on this page for Springfield, MO is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 97 and institutions represented of 32.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Springfield, MO and how it sits inside Missouri against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Missouri.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

How Springfield, MO compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Springfield, MO against Missouri and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Common questions

How current is the banks in Springfield data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Springfield, MO?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 97.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Missouri

Methodology

The 97 branches listed for Springfield come from the federal branch files, filtered to Springfield, MO and matched to the 32 institutions we hold profiles for.

97 of the 97 Springfield records carry a street address and 97 carry coordinates, which is how the 9.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Great Southern Bank is the largest presence in Springfield with 12 of the 97 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.