Banks in Kansas City, MO

Banks in Kansas City, MO: 115 branches on record from 42 federally insured institutions, spread over 31 ZIP codes and 27.9 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Kansas City, MO

Branches on file
115
Institutions present
42
ZIP codes covered
31
Furthest two branches
27.9 mi apart

Kansas City has 115 bank branches on file across 42 institutions, and U.S. Bank National Association accounts for 11 of them (10% of the city’s total). 24 of those institutions keep a single office here. 18 are headquartered inside Missouri.

The records carry 115 street addresses and 115 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 7 miles from the centre point of all Kansas City branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 64105, 64106, 64108, 64109, 64110, 64111, 64112, 64113, 64114, 64116, 64118, 64119 and 19 more.

Commerce Bank, UMB Bank, National Association, Academy Bank, National Association, Central Bank of Kansas City, Lead Bank are headquartered in Kansas City itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Kansas CityOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
U.S. Bank National Association111,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Commerce Bank10153Kansas City, MONot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association105,116Columbus, OHNot reported
The Central Trust Bank9166Jefferson City, MONot reported
Arvest Bank7227Fayetteville, ARNot reported
UMB Bank, National Association7199Kansas City, MONot reported
Bank of America, National Association63,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Academy Bank, National Association580Kansas City, MONot reported
Security Bank of Kansas City534Kansas City, KSNot reported
BMO Bank National Association3967Chicago, ILNot reported
Capitol Federal Savings Bank346Topeka, KSNot reported
First National Bank of Omaha3122Omaha, NENot reported
BOKF, National Association2115Tulsa, OKNot reported
Central Bank of Kansas City22Kansas City, MONot reported
First Federal Bank of Kansas City29Lees Summit, MONot reported
NBH Bank295Greenwood Village, CONot reported
nbkc bank24Leawood, KSNot reported
Southern Bank268Poplar Bluff, MONot reported
Bank of Springfield118Springfield, ILNot reported
Bank of Weston13Weston, MONot reported
Bison State Bank12Bison, KSNot reported
Blue Ridge Bank and Trust Co.18Independence, MONot reported
Busey Bank181Champaign, ILNot reported
Connections Bank110Platte City, MONot reported
Emprise Bank131Wichita, KSNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Kansas City data on this page

The numbers published here for Kansas City, MO are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 115 and institutions represented of 42.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Kansas City, MO matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Kansas City, MO and how it sits inside Missouri against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Missouri.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

How Kansas City, MO compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Kansas City, MO against Missouri and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Frequently asked questions about Kansas City, MO

How current is the banks in Kansas City data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Kansas City, MO?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 115.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Missouri

Methodology

The 115 branches listed for Kansas City come from the federal branch files, filtered to Kansas City, MO and matched to the 42 institutions we hold profiles for.

115 of the 115 Kansas City records carry a street address and 115 carry coordinates, which is how the 27.9-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

U.S. Bank National Association is the largest presence in Kansas City with 11 of the 115 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.