Banks in Phoenix, AZ

Banks in Phoenix, AZ: 193 branches on record from 38 federally insured institutions, spread over 38 ZIP codes and 35.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Phoenix, AZ

Branches on file
193
Institutions present
38
ZIP codes covered
38
Furthest two branches
35.2 mi apart

Phoenix has 193 bank branches on file across 38 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 35 of them (18% of the city’s total). 18 of those institutions keep a single office here. 4 are headquartered inside Arizona.

The records carry 193 street addresses and 193 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 7 miles from the centre point of all Phoenix branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 85004, 85006, 85007, 85008, 85009, 85012, 85014, 85015, 85016, 85017, 85018, 85020 and 26 more.

Western Alliance Bank, Goldwater Bank, N.A., Integro Bank, USAA Federal Savings Bank are headquartered in Phoenix itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in PhoenixOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association355,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association284,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of America, National Association263,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association162,404Wilmington, DENot reported
U.S. Bank National Association121,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
BMO Bank National Association11967Chicago, ILNot reported
First National Bank Texas9366Killeen, TXNot reported
MidFirst Bank594Oklahoma City, OKNot reported
Zions Bancorporation, N.A.5412Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association41,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
UMB Bank, National Association4199Kansas City, MONot reported
BOKF, National Association3115Tulsa, OKNot reported
Columbia Bank3259Roseburg, ORNot reported
Bankers Trust Company219Des Moines, IANot reported
Enterprise Bank & Trust257Clayton, MONot reported
First Fidelity Bank228Oklahoma City, OKNot reported
Flagstar Bank, National Association2345Hicksville, NYNot reported
Sunflower Bank, National Association2101Dallas, TXNot reported
WaFd Bank2177Seattle, WANot reported
Western Alliance Bank238Phoenix, AZNot reported
Alerus Financial, National Association127Grand Forks, NDNot reported
Bank of England1145England, ARNot reported
Bell Bank133Fargo, NDNot reported
Busey Bank181Champaign, ILNot reported
First International Bank & Trust128Watford City, NDNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Phoenix data on this page

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Phoenix, AZ are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 193 and institutions represented of 38.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Turning the Phoenix, AZ data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Phoenix, AZ and how it sits inside Arizona against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Arizona.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

Putting Phoenix, AZ next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Phoenix, AZ against Arizona and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Frequently asked questions about Phoenix, AZ

How current is the banks in Phoenix data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Phoenix, AZ?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 193.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Arizona

Methodology

The 193 branches listed for Phoenix come from the federal branch files, filtered to Phoenix, AZ and matched to the 38 institutions we hold profiles for.

193 of the 193 Phoenix records carry a street address and 193 carry coordinates, which is how the 35.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Phoenix with 35 of the 193 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.