ATM in Bethesda, MD

ATM in Bethesda, MD: 34 branch locations on record from 20 federally insured institutions, spread over 4 ZIP codes and 5.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Bethesda, MD

Branches on file
34
Institutions present
20
ZIP codes covered
4
Furthest two branches
5.4 mi apart

Bethesda has 34 bank branches on file across 20 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 4 of them (12% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 2 are headquartered inside Maryland.

The records carry 34 street addresses and 34 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.2 miles from the centre point of all Bethesda branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 20814, 20815, 20816, 20817.

EagleBank, Presidential Bank, FSB are headquartered in Bethesda itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in BethesdaOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association45,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Truist Bank31,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association34,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Atlantic Union Bank2182Richmond City, VANot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Capital One, National Association2249Mclean, VANot reported
Citibank, National Association2665Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
EagleBank214Bethesda, MDNot reported
First National Bank of Pennsylvania2363Greenville, PANot reported
PNC Bank, National Association22,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Burke & Herbert Bank & Trust Company1106Alexandria, VANot reported
Citizens Bank, National Association1981Providence, RINot reported
FVCbank18Fairfax, VANot reported
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company1976Buffalo, NYNot reported
Pinnacle Bank1421Nashville, TNNot reported
Presidential Bank, FSB110Bethesda, MDNot reported
TD Bank, National Association11,051Wilmington, DENot reported
The National Capital Bank of Washington14Washington, DCNot reported
Trustar Bank16Great Falls, VANot reported
United Bank1235Fairfax, VANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Bethesda numbers

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Bethesda, MD are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 34 and institutions represented of 20.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Bethesda, MD and how it sits inside Maryland against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Maryland.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

How Bethesda, MD compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Bethesda, MD against Maryland and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Common questions

How current is the atm in Bethesda data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Bethesda, MD?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 34.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Maryland

Methodology

The 34 branch locations listed for Bethesda come from the federal branch files, filtered to Bethesda, MD and matched to the 20 institutions we hold profiles for.

34 of the 34 Bethesda records carry a street address and 34 carry coordinates, which is how the 5.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Bethesda with 4 of the 34 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.