ATM in Plainfield, IN

ATM in Plainfield, IN: 15 branch locations on record from 15 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 3.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Plainfield, IN

Branches on file
15
Institutions present
15
ZIP codes covered
1
Furthest two branches
3.5 mi apart

Plainfield has 15 bank branches on file across 15 institutions, and BMO Bank National Association accounts for 1 of them (7% of the city’s total). 15 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside Indiana.

The records carry 15 street addresses and 15 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 0.9 miles from the centre point of all Plainfield branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 46168.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in PlainfieldOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
BMO Bank National Association1967Chicago, ILNot reported
Citizens Bank19Mooresville, INNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association11,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
First Merchants Bank1134Muncie, INNot reported
First National Bank17Cloverdale, INNot reported
Hendricks County Bank and Trust Company15Brownsburg, INNot reported
Home Bank SB15Martinsville, INNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association15,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Old National Bank1358Evansville, INNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association12,404Wilmington, DENot reported
State Bank111Brownsburg, INNot reported
Stock Yards Bank & Trust Company184Louisville, KYNot reported
The Huntington National Bank11,505Columbus, OHNot reported
The North Salem State Bank19North Salem, INNot reported
Woodforest National Bank1741The Woodlands, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

What the atm in Plainfield figures actually show

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Plainfield, IN are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 15 and institutions represented of 15.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Turning the Plainfield, IN data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Plainfield, IN and how it sits inside Indiana against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Indiana.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Where Plainfield, IN sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Plainfield, IN against Indiana and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Frequently asked questions about Plainfield, IN

How current is the atm in Plainfield data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Plainfield, IN?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 15.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Indiana

Methodology

The 15 branch locations listed for Plainfield come from the federal branch files, filtered to Plainfield, IN and matched to the 15 institutions we hold profiles for.

15 of the 15 Plainfield records carry a street address and 15 carry coordinates, which is how the 3.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

BMO Bank National Association is the largest presence in Plainfield with 1 of the 15 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.