ATM in Carmel, IN

ATM in Carmel, IN: 43 branch locations on record from 25 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 9.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Carmel, IN

Branches on file
43
Institutions present
25
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
9.2 mi apart

Carmel has 43 bank branches on file across 25 institutions, and The National Bank of Indianapolis accounts for 5 of them (12% of the city’s total). 14 of those institutions keep a single office here. 14 are headquartered inside Indiana.

The records carry 43 street addresses and 43 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.2 miles from the centre point of all Carmel branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 46032, 46033.

Merchants Bank of Indiana is headquartered in Carmel itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in CarmelOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
The National Bank of Indianapolis513Indianapolis, INNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association45,116Columbus, OHNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association32,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Regions Bank31,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association21,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
First Merchants Bank2134Muncie, INNot reported
Horizon Bank278Michigan City, INNot reported
Lake City Bank257Warsaw, INNot reported
Merchants Bank of Indiana28Carmel, INNot reported
The Huntington National Bank21,505Columbus, OHNot reported
1st Source Bank181South Bend, INNot reported
BMO Bank National Association1967Chicago, ILNot reported
Busey Bank181Champaign, ILNot reported
Centier Bank163Whiting, INNot reported
Citizens State Bank of New Castle, Indiana111New Castle, INNot reported
First Farmers Bank & Trust Co.137Converse, INNot reported
First Financial Bank1164Cincinnati, OHNot reported
KeyBank National Association1891Cleveland, OHNot reported
Old National Bank1358Evansville, INNot reported
STAR Financial Bank137Fort Wayne, INNot reported
State Bank111Brownsburg, INNot reported
Stock Yards Bank & Trust Company184Louisville, KYNot reported
The Peoples State Bank113Ellettsville, INNot reported
United Fidelity Bank, fsb120Evansville, INNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Carmel numbers

Every figure on this page for Carmel, IN is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 43 and institutions represented of 25.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Carmel, IN and how it sits inside Indiana against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Indiana.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

Where Carmel, IN sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Carmel, IN against Indiana and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Questions people ask about Carmel, IN

How current is the atm in Carmel data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Carmel, IN?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 43.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Indiana

Methodology

The 43 branch locations listed for Carmel come from the federal branch files, filtered to Carmel, IN and matched to the 25 institutions we hold profiles for.

43 of the 43 Carmel records carry a street address and 43 carry coordinates, which is how the 9.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

The National Bank of Indianapolis is the largest presence in Carmel with 5 of the 43 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.