Banks in Ocean Springs, MS

Banks in Ocean Springs, MS: 13 branches on record from 11 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 4.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Ocean Springs, MS

Branches on file
13
Institutions present
11
ZIP codes covered
1
Furthest two branches
4.4 mi apart

Ocean Springs has 13 bank branches on file across 11 institutions, and Hancock Whitney Bank accounts for 2 of them (15% of the city’s total). 9 of those institutions keep a single office here. 7 are headquartered inside Mississippi.

The records carry 13 street addresses and 13 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1 miles from the centre point of all Ocean Springs branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 39564.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Wells Fargo Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 10.0 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Ocean SpringsOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Hancock Whitney Bank2193Gulfport, MSNot reported
Merchants & Marine Bank224Pascagoula, MSNot reported
Bank of England1145England, ARNot reported
Community Bank of Mississippi156Flowood, MSNot reported
First Federal Savings and Loan Association16Pascagoula, MSNot reported
Regions Bank11,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Renasant Bank1265Tupelo, MSNot reported
The Citizens Bank of Philadelphia, Mississippi126Philadelphia, MSNot reported
The Huntington National Bank11,505Columbus, OHNot reported
The Peoples Bank, Biloxi, Mississippi118Biloxi, MSNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association14,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Ocean Springs figures actually show

Every figure on this page for Ocean Springs, MS is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 13 and institutions represented of 11.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Turning the Ocean Springs, MS data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Ocean Springs, MS and how it sits inside Mississippi against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Mississippi.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Putting Ocean Springs, MS next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Ocean Springs, MS against Mississippi and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Questions people ask about Ocean Springs, MS

How current is the banks in Ocean Springs data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Ocean Springs, MS?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 13.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Mississippi

Methodology

The 13 branches listed for Ocean Springs come from the federal branch files, filtered to Ocean Springs, MS and matched to the 11 institutions we hold profiles for.

13 of the 13 Ocean Springs records carry a street address and 13 carry coordinates, which is how the 4.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Hancock Whitney Bank is the largest presence in Ocean Springs with 2 of the 13 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.