Banks in Hattiesburg, MS

Banks in Hattiesburg, MS: 44 branches on record from 20 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 10.8 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Hattiesburg, MS

Branches on file
44
Institutions present
20
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
10.8 mi apart

Hattiesburg has 44 bank branches on file across 20 institutions, and Trustmark Bank accounts for 6 of them (14% of the city’s total). 9 of those institutions keep a single office here. 14 are headquartered inside Mississippi.

The records carry 44 street addresses and 44 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.5 miles from the centre point of all Hattiesburg branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 39401, 39402.

Grand Bank for Savings, FSB is headquartered in Hattiesburg itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Wells Fargo Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 10.0 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in HattiesburgOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Trustmark Bank6176Jackson, MSNot reported
Regions Bank51,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
The Citizens National Bank of Meridian429Meridian, MSNot reported
The Huntington National Bank41,505Columbus, OHNot reported
BankFirst Financial Services350Columbus, MSNot reported
Renasant Bank3265Tupelo, MSNot reported
Community Bank of Mississippi256Flowood, MSNot reported
First Bank214Mccomb, MSNot reported
Great Southern Bank211Meridian, MSNot reported
Hancock Whitney Bank2193Gulfport, MSNot reported
PriorityOne Bank218Magee, MSNot reported
Citizens Bank18Columbia, MSNot reported
FIDELITY BANK127New Orleans, LANot reported
First Southern Bank16Columbia, MSNot reported
Grand Bank for Savings, FSB11Hattiesburg, MSNot reported
Gulf Coast Bank and Trust Company139New Orleans, LANot reported
Merchants & Marine Bank124Pascagoula, MSNot reported
Southern Bancorp Bank156Arkadelphia, ARNot reported
The Citizens Bank of Philadelphia, Mississippi126Philadelphia, MSNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association14,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Hattiesburg figures actually show

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Hattiesburg, MS are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 44 and institutions represented of 20.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Hattiesburg, MS and how it sits inside Mississippi against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Mississippi.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

How Hattiesburg, MS compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Hattiesburg, MS against Mississippi and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Common questions

How current is the banks in Hattiesburg data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Hattiesburg, MS?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 44.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Mississippi

Methodology

The 44 branches listed for Hattiesburg come from the federal branch files, filtered to Hattiesburg, MS and matched to the 20 institutions we hold profiles for.

44 of the 44 Hattiesburg records carry a street address and 44 carry coordinates, which is how the 10.8-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Trustmark Bank is the largest presence in Hattiesburg with 6 of the 44 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.