Banks in Long Prairie, MN

Banks in Long Prairie, MN: 3 branches on record from 3 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 0.7 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Long Prairie, MN

Branches on file
3
Institutions present
3
ZIP codes covered
1
Furthest two branches
0.7 mi apart

Long Prairie has 3 bank branches on file across 3 institutions, and American Heritage National Bank accounts for 1 of them (33% of the city’s total). 3 of those institutions keep a single office here. 3 are headquartered inside Minnesota.

The records carry 3 street addresses and 3 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 0.3 miles from the centre point of all Long Prairie branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 56347.

American Heritage National Bank is headquartered in Long Prairie itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Long PrairieOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
American Heritage National Bank17Long Prairie, MNNot reported
Mid-Central National Bank13Wadena, MNNot reported
Minnesota National Bank13Sauk Centre, MNNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Long Prairie data on this page

The numbers published here for Long Prairie, MN are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 3 and institutions represented of 3.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Long Prairie, MN and how it sits inside Minnesota against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Minnesota.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

How Long Prairie, MN compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Long Prairie, MN against Minnesota and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Questions people ask about Long Prairie, MN

How current is the banks in Long Prairie data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Long Prairie, MN?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 3.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Minnesota

Methodology

The 3 branches listed for Long Prairie come from the federal branch files, filtered to Long Prairie, MN and matched to the 3 institutions we hold profiles for.

3 of the 3 Long Prairie records carry a street address and 3 carry coordinates, which is how the 0.7-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

American Heritage National Bank is the largest presence in Long Prairie with 1 of the 3 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.