Banks in Rochester, MN

Banks in Rochester, MN: 38 branches on record from 17 federally insured institutions, spread over 4 ZIP codes and 9 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Rochester, MN

Branches on file
38
Institutions present
17
ZIP codes covered
4
Furthest two branches
9 mi apart

Rochester has 38 bank branches on file across 17 institutions, and Think Mutual Bank accounts for 6 of them (16% of the city’s total). 7 of those institutions keep a single office here. 9 are headquartered inside Minnesota.

The records carry 38 street addresses and 38 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.2 miles from the centre point of all Rochester branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 55901, 55902, 55904, 55906.

Think Mutual Bank, Eagle Rock Bank, Minnesota First Credit and Savings, Incorporated are headquartered in Rochester itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, U.S. Bank National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 7.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in RochesterOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Think Mutual Bank69Rochester, MNNot reported
Premier Bank Minnesota412Hastings, MNNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association44,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Alerus Financial, National Association327Grand Forks, NDNot reported
Associated Bank, National Association3216Green Bay, WINot reported
U.S. Bank National Association31,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Merchants Bank, National Association222Winona, MNNot reported
Minnwest Bank235Redwood Falls, MNNot reported
Old National Bank2358Evansville, INNot reported
Sterling State Bank26Austin, MNNot reported
Coulee Bank18La Crosse, WINot reported
Eagle Rock Bank15Rochester, MNNot reported
F & M Community Bank, National Association13Preston, MNNot reported
Foresight Bank13Plainview, MNNot reported
Manufacturers Bank & Trust Company19Forest City, IANot reported
Minnesota First Credit and Savings, Incorporated14Rochester, MNNot reported
West Bank111West Des Moines, IANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Rochester figures actually show

The numbers published here for Rochester, MN are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 38 and institutions represented of 17.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Turning the Rochester, MN data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Rochester, MN and how it sits inside Minnesota against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Minnesota.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Where Rochester, MN sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Rochester, MN against Minnesota and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Questions people ask about Rochester, MN

How current is the banks in Rochester data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Rochester, MN?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 38.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Minnesota

Methodology

The 38 branches listed for Rochester come from the federal branch files, filtered to Rochester, MN and matched to the 17 institutions we hold profiles for.

38 of the 38 Rochester records carry a street address and 38 carry coordinates, which is how the 9-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Think Mutual Bank is the largest presence in Rochester with 6 of the 38 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.