Banks in Winfield, KS
Banks in Winfield, KS: 10 branches on record from 5 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 1.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Winfield, KS
Winfield has 10 bank branches on file across 5 institutions, and RCB Bank accounts for 4 of them (40% of the city’s total). 3 of those institutions keep a single office here. 3 are headquartered inside Kansas.
The records carry 10 street addresses and 10 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 0.4 miles from the centre point of all Winfield branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 67156.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Winfield | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RCB Bank | 4 | 62 | Claremore, OK | Not reported |
| Union State Bank | 3 | 12 | Arkansas City, KS | Not reported |
| BMO Bank National Association | 1 | 967 | Chicago, IL | Not reported |
| Citizens Bank of Kansas | 1 | 11 | Kingman, KS | Not reported |
| Community National Bank & Trust | 1 | 45 | Chanute, KS | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
What the banks in Winfield figures actually show
The numbers published here for Winfield, KS are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 10 and institutions represented of 5.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Winfield, KS and how it sits inside Kansas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Kansas.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.
How Winfield, KS compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Winfield, KS against Kansas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
Questions people ask about Winfield, KS
How current is the banks in Winfield data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Winfield, KS?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 10.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Kansas
Methodology
The 10 branches listed for Winfield come from the federal branch files, filtered to Winfield, KS and matched to the 5 institutions we hold profiles for.
10 of the 10 Winfield records carry a street address and 10 carry coordinates, which is how the 1.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
RCB Bank is the largest presence in Winfield with 4 of the 10 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.