Banks in Kansas City, KS
Banks in Kansas City, KS: 32 branches on record from 17 federally insured institutions, spread over 8 ZIP codes and 13.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Kansas City, KS
Kansas City has 32 bank branches on file across 17 institutions, and Security Bank of Kansas City accounts for 8 of them (25% of the city’s total). 9 of those institutions keep a single office here. 5 are headquartered inside Kansas.
The records carry 32 street addresses and 32 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4 miles from the centre point of all Kansas City branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 66101, 66102, 66103, 66104, 66105, 66106, 66109, 66112.
Security Bank of Kansas City, Argentine Federal Savings are headquartered in Kansas City itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Kansas City | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Security Bank of Kansas City | 8 | 34 | Kansas City, KS | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 3 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 2 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Bank of Labor | 2 | 6 | Overland Park, KS | Not reported |
| Capitol Federal Savings Bank | 2 | 46 | Topeka, KS | Not reported |
| Commerce Bank | 2 | 153 | Kansas City, MO | Not reported |
| NBH Bank | 2 | 95 | Greenwood Village, CO | Not reported |
| UMB Bank, National Association | 2 | 199 | Kansas City, MO | Not reported |
| Academy Bank, National Association | 1 | 80 | Kansas City, MO | Not reported |
| Argentine Federal Savings | 1 | 2 | Kansas City, KS | Not reported |
| Enterprise Bank & Trust | 1 | 57 | Clayton, MO | Not reported |
| First Federal Bank of Kansas City | 1 | 9 | Lees Summit, MO | Not reported |
| First National Bank of Omaha | 1 | 122 | Omaha, NE | Not reported |
| First State Bank and Trust | 1 | 7 | Tonganoxie, KS | Not reported |
| Liberty Bank and Trust Company | 1 | 17 | New Orleans, LA | Not reported |
| Oakstar Bank | 1 | 27 | Springfield, MO | Not reported |
| The Central Trust Bank | 1 | 166 | Jefferson City, MO | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
Reading the banks in Kansas City data on this page
Every figure on this page for Kansas City, KS is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 32 and institutions represented of 17.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Kansas City, KS and how it sits inside Kansas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Kansas.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
A short checklist before you act
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
Where Kansas City, KS sits against the wider market
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Kansas City, KS against Kansas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
Common questions
How current is the banks in Kansas City data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Kansas City, KS?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 32.
How we built this page
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Kansas
Methodology
The 32 branches listed for Kansas City come from the federal branch files, filtered to Kansas City, KS and matched to the 17 institutions we hold profiles for.
32 of the 32 Kansas City records carry a street address and 32 carry coordinates, which is how the 13.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Security Bank of Kansas City is the largest presence in Kansas City with 8 of the 32 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.