Banks in Honolulu, HI

Banks in Honolulu, HI: 86 branches on record from 13 federally insured institutions, spread over 11 ZIP codes and 14.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Honolulu, HI

Branches on file
86
Institutions present
13
ZIP codes covered
11
Furthest two branches
14.2 mi apart

Honolulu has 86 bank branches on file across 13 institutions, and Bank of Hope accounts for 15 of them (17% of the city’s total). 4 of those institutions keep a single office here. 6 are headquartered inside Hawaii.

The records carry 86 street addresses and 86 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.6 miles from the centre point of all Honolulu branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 96813, 96814, 96815, 96816, 96817, 96818, 96819, 96821, 96822, 96825, 96826.

First Hawaiian Bank, Bank of Hawaii, American Savings Bank, National Association, Central Pacific Bank, Finance Factors, Ltd., Hawaii National Bank are headquartered in Honolulu itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in HonoluluOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Bank of Hope1578Los Angeles, CANot reported
First Hawaiian Bank1445Honolulu, HINot reported
Bank of Hawaii1347Honolulu, HINot reported
American Savings Bank, National Association1235Honolulu, HINot reported
Central Pacific Bank1127Honolulu, HINot reported
Finance Factors, Ltd.713Honolulu, HINot reported
Hawaii National Bank610Honolulu, HINot reported
Commonwealth Business Bank213Los Angeles, CANot reported
Mechanics Bank2170Walnut Creek, CANot reported
First American Trust, FSB111Santa Ana, CANot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company1517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Royal Business Bank125Los Angeles, CANot reported
Sunflower Bank, National Association1101Dallas, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Honolulu figures actually show

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Honolulu, HI are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 86 and institutions represented of 13.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Honolulu, HI and how it sits inside Hawaii against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Hawaii.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

Where Honolulu, HI sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Honolulu, HI against Hawaii and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Questions people ask about Honolulu, HI

How current is the banks in Honolulu data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Honolulu, HI?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 86.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Hawaii

Methodology

The 86 branches listed for Honolulu come from the federal branch files, filtered to Honolulu, HI and matched to the 13 institutions we hold profiles for.

86 of the 86 Honolulu records carry a street address and 86 carry coordinates, which is how the 14.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Bank of Hope is the largest presence in Honolulu with 15 of the 86 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.