Banks in Hamden, CT
Banks in Hamden, CT: 14 branches on record from 12 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 5.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Hamden, CT
Hamden has 14 bank branches on file across 12 institutions, and KeyBank National Association accounts for 2 of them (14% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 4 are headquartered inside Connecticut.
The records carry 14 street addresses and 14 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1 miles from the centre point of all Hamden branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 06514, 06518.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Hamden | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| KeyBank National Association | 2 | 891 | Cleveland, OH | Not reported |
| Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company | 2 | 976 | Buffalo, NY | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 1 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Bankwell Bank | 1 | 11 | New Canaan, CT | Not reported |
| Citizens Bank, National Association | 1 | 981 | Providence, RI | Not reported |
| Ion Bank | 1 | 36 | Naugatuck, CT | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 1 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Liberty Bank | 1 | 51 | Middletown, CT | Not reported |
| Santander Bank, N.A. | 1 | 559 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| TD Bank, National Association | 1 | 1,051 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Webster Bank, National Association | 1 | 194 | Stamford, CT | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 1 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
How to read the banks in Hamden numbers
Every figure on this page for Hamden, CT is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 14 and institutions represented of 12.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
Why the spread around Hamden, CT matters
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Hamden, CT and how it sits inside Connecticut against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Connecticut.
Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.
The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.
A short checklist before you act
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
Putting Hamden, CT next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Hamden, CT against Connecticut and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
Common questions
How current is the banks in Hamden data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Hamden, CT?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 14.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Connecticut
Methodology
The 14 branches listed for Hamden come from the federal branch files, filtered to Hamden, CT and matched to the 12 institutions we hold profiles for.
14 of the 14 Hamden records carry a street address and 14 carry coordinates, which is how the 5.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
KeyBank National Association is the largest presence in Hamden with 2 of the 14 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.