Banks in Stamford, CT

Banks in Stamford, CT: 41 branches on record from 19 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 4.8 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Stamford, CT

Branches on file
41
Institutions present
19
ZIP codes covered
5
Furthest two branches
4.8 mi apart

Stamford has 41 bank branches on file across 19 institutions, and First County Bank accounts for 7 of them (17% of the city’s total). 11 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside Connecticut.

The records carry 41 street addresses and 41 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.4 miles from the centre point of all Stamford branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 06901, 06902, 06905, 06906, 06907.

First County Bank, Patriot Bank, National Association, Webster Bank, National Association are headquartered in Stamford itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in StamfordOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
First County Bank714Stamford, CTNot reported
Bank of America, National Association53,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company5976Buffalo, NYNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association35,116Columbus, OHNot reported
KeyBank National Association3891Cleveland, OHNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association34,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bankwell Bank211New Canaan, CTNot reported
Citibank, National Association2665Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Capital One, National Association1249Mclean, VANot reported
Citizens Bank, National Association1981Providence, RINot reported
Connecticut Community Bank, National Association19Norwalk, CTNot reported
Fairfield County Bank117Ridgefield, CTNot reported
Ives Bank116Danbury, CTNot reported
Patriot Bank, National Association18Stamford, CTNot reported
Santander Bank, N.A.1559Wilmington, DENot reported
TD Bank, National Association11,051Wilmington, DENot reported
The First Bank of Greenwich13Cos Cob, CTNot reported
The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly130Westerly, RINot reported
Webster Bank, National Association1194Stamford, CTNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Stamford figures actually show

The numbers published here for Stamford, CT are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 41 and institutions represented of 19.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Stamford, CT matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Stamford, CT and how it sits inside Connecticut against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Connecticut.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

Where Stamford, CT sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Stamford, CT against Connecticut and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Common questions

How current is the banks in Stamford data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Stamford, CT?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 41.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Connecticut

Methodology

The 41 branches listed for Stamford come from the federal branch files, filtered to Stamford, CT and matched to the 19 institutions we hold profiles for.

41 of the 41 Stamford records carry a street address and 41 carry coordinates, which is how the 4.8-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

First County Bank is the largest presence in Stamford with 7 of the 41 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.