ATM in Columbia, MO

ATM in Columbia, MO: 51 branch locations on record from 21 federally insured institutions, spread over 3 ZIP codes and 10.9 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Columbia, MO

Branches on file
51
Institutions present
21
ZIP codes covered
3
Furthest two branches
10.9 mi apart

Columbia has 51 bank branches on file across 21 institutions, and The Central Trust Bank accounts for 10 of them (20% of the city’s total). 9 of those institutions keep a single office here. 16 are headquartered inside Missouri.

The records carry 51 street addresses and 51 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.2 miles from the centre point of all Columbia branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 65201, 65202, 65203.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in ColumbiaOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
The Central Trust Bank10166Jefferson City, MONot reported
Commerce Bank6153Kansas City, MONot reported
Simmons Bank6227Pine Bluff, ARNot reported
First State Community Bank353Farmington, MONot reported
U.S. Bank National Association31,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Connections Bank210Platte City, MONot reported
First Mid Bank & Trust, National Association287Mattoon, ILNot reported
First Midwest Bank of the Ozarks211Poplar Bluff, MONot reported
Hawthorn Bank218Jefferson City, MONot reported
Regions Bank21,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
The Callaway Bank26Fulton, MONot reported
Academy Bank, National Association180Kansas City, MONot reported
Flat Branch Bank12Richmond, MONot reported
Great Southern Bank1107Reeds Spring, MONot reported
Investors Community Bank12Chillicothe, MONot reported
Mid America Bank111Jefferson City, MONot reported
Oakstar Bank127Springfield, MONot reported
The Bank of Missouri132Perryville, MONot reported
The Missouri Bank17Warrenton, MONot reported
UMB Bank, National Association1199Kansas City, MONot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Columbia numbers

Every figure on this page for Columbia, MO is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 51 and institutions represented of 21.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Turning the Columbia, MO data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Columbia, MO and how it sits inside Missouri against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Missouri.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

Where Columbia, MO sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Columbia, MO against Missouri and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Frequently asked questions about Columbia, MO

How current is the atm in Columbia data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Columbia, MO?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 51.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Missouri

Methodology

The 51 branch locations listed for Columbia come from the federal branch files, filtered to Columbia, MO and matched to the 21 institutions we hold profiles for.

51 of the 51 Columbia records carry a street address and 51 carry coordinates, which is how the 10.9-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

The Central Trust Bank is the largest presence in Columbia with 10 of the 51 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.