ATM in Ames, IA
ATM in Ames, IA: 22 branch locations on record from 16 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 4.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Ames, IA
Ames has 22 bank branches on file across 16 institutions, and First National Bank, Ames, Iowa accounts for 4 of them (18% of the city’s total). 13 of those institutions keep a single office here. 10 are headquartered inside Iowa.
The records carry 22 street addresses and 22 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.4 miles from the centre point of all Ames branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 50010, 50014.
First National Bank, Ames, Iowa, VISIONBANK OF IOWA, Exchange State Bank are headquartered in Ames itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Ames | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First National Bank, Ames, Iowa | 4 | 10 | Ames, IA | Not reported |
| VISIONBANK OF IOWA | 3 | 13 | Ames, IA | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 2 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Availa Bank | 1 | 15 | Carroll, IA | Not reported |
| Bankers Trust Company | 1 | 19 | Des Moines, IA | Not reported |
| BMO Bank National Association | 1 | 967 | Chicago, IL | Not reported |
| Central State Bank | 1 | 3 | State Center, IA | Not reported |
| Exchange State Bank | 1 | 3 | Ames, IA | Not reported |
| First Interstate Bank | 1 | 240 | Billings, MT | Not reported |
| Great Southern Bank | 1 | 107 | Reeds Spring, MO | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 1 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Midwest Heritage Bank, FSB | 1 | 13 | West Des Moines, IA | Not reported |
| Northwest Bank | 1 | 21 | Spencer, IA | Not reported |
| South Story Bank & Trust | 1 | 5 | Slater, IA | Not reported |
| TS Bank | 1 | 7 | Treynor, IA | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 1 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.
If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a national ATM database?
No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.
How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?
Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.
How to read the atm in Ames numbers
Start with one distinction: what we publish for Ames, IA are medians, not averages.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 22 and institutions represented of 16.
Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.
Why the spread around Ames, IA matters
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Ames, IA and how it sits inside Iowa against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Iowa.
Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.
The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
Putting Ames, IA next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Ames, IA against Iowa and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
Questions people ask about Ames, IA
How current is the atm in Ames data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Ames, IA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 22.
How we built this page
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Iowa
Methodology
The 22 branch locations listed for Ames come from the federal branch files, filtered to Ames, IA and matched to the 16 institutions we hold profiles for.
22 of the 22 Ames records carry a street address and 22 carry coordinates, which is how the 4.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
First National Bank, Ames, Iowa is the largest presence in Ames with 4 of the 22 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.