Banks in Appleton, WI
Banks in Appleton, WI: 27 branches on record from 15 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 7.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Appleton, WI
Appleton has 27 bank branches on file across 15 institutions, and BMO Bank National Association accounts for 4 of them (15% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 10 are headquartered inside Wisconsin.
The records carry 27 street addresses and 27 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.1 miles from the centre point of all Appleton branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 54911, 54913, 54914, 54915, 54919.
American National Bank - Fox Cities, Thrivent Trust Company are headquartered in Appleton itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Appleton | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BMO Bank National Association | 4 | 967 | Chicago, IL | Not reported |
| Nicolet National Bank | 4 | 117 | Green Bay, WI | Not reported |
| Associated Bank, National Association | 3 | 216 | Green Bay, WI | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 3 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 3 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| American National Bank - Fox Cities | 1 | 1 | Appleton, WI | Not reported |
| Bank First, N.A. | 1 | 38 | Manitowoc, WI | Not reported |
| East Wisconsin Savings Bank | 1 | 4 | Kaukauna, WI | Not reported |
| First Business Bank | 1 | 5 | Madison, WI | Not reported |
| Horicon Bank | 1 | 19 | Horicon, WI | Not reported |
| Johnson Bank | 1 | 32 | Racine, WI | Not reported |
| North Shore Bank | 1 | 43 | Brookfield, WI | Not reported |
| Old National Bank | 1 | 358 | Evansville, IN | Not reported |
| Thrivent Trust Company | 1 | 2 | Appleton, WI | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 1 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
How to read the banks in Appleton numbers
Every figure on this page for Appleton, WI is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 27 and institutions represented of 15.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
Why the spread around Appleton, WI matters
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Appleton, WI and how it sits inside Wisconsin against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Wisconsin.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
Where Appleton, WI sits against the wider market
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Appleton, WI against Wisconsin and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.
Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.
Questions people ask about Appleton, WI
How current is the banks in Appleton data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Appleton, WI?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 27.
Sources, method and limits
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Wisconsin
Methodology
The 27 branches listed for Appleton come from the federal branch files, filtered to Appleton, WI and matched to the 15 institutions we hold profiles for.
27 of the 27 Appleton records carry a street address and 27 carry coordinates, which is how the 7.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
BMO Bank National Association is the largest presence in Appleton with 4 of the 27 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.