Banks in West Fargo, ND
Banks in West Fargo, ND: 11 branches on record from 9 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 3.3 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in West Fargo, ND
West Fargo has 11 bank branches on file across 9 institutions, and Gate City Bank accounts for 3 of them (27% of the city’s total). 8 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside North Dakota.
The records carry 11 street addresses and 11 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.1 miles from the centre point of all West Fargo branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 58078.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Wells Fargo Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 10.0 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in West Fargo | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gate City Bank | 3 | 45 | Fargo, ND | Not reported |
| Alerus Financial, National Association | 1 | 27 | Grand Forks, ND | Not reported |
| Bell Bank | 1 | 33 | Fargo, ND | Not reported |
| Bravera Bank | 1 | 35 | Dickinson, ND | Not reported |
| Choice Financial Group | 1 | 18 | Fargo, ND | Not reported |
| First International Bank & Trust | 1 | 28 | Watford City, ND | Not reported |
| First Western Bank & Trust | 1 | 20 | Minot, ND | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 1 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Western State Bank | 1 | 10 | Devils Lake, ND | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
Reading the banks in West Fargo data on this page
The numbers published here for West Fargo, ND are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 11 and institutions represented of 9.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish West Fargo, ND and how it sits inside North Dakota against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of North Dakota.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
How West Fargo, ND compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark West Fargo, ND against North Dakota and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
A short checklist before you act
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
Frequently asked questions about West Fargo, ND
How current is the banks in West Fargo data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for West Fargo, ND?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 11.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in North Dakota
Methodology
The 11 branches listed for West Fargo come from the federal branch files, filtered to West Fargo, ND and matched to the 9 institutions we hold profiles for.
11 of the 11 West Fargo records carry a street address and 11 carry coordinates, which is how the 3.3-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Gate City Bank is the largest presence in West Fargo with 3 of the 11 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.