Banks in Syracuse, NY
Banks in Syracuse, NY: 37 branches on record from 13 federally insured institutions, spread over 12 ZIP codes and 8.9 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Syracuse, NY
Syracuse has 37 bank branches on file across 13 institutions, and Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company accounts for 9 of them (24% of the city’s total). 5 of those institutions keep a single office here. 9 are headquartered inside New York.
The records carry 37 street addresses and 37 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.8 miles from the centre point of all Syracuse branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 13202, 13203, 13204, 13205, 13206, 13207, 13208, 13210, 13214, 13215, 13219, 13224.
Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association is headquartered in Syracuse itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Syracuse | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company | 9 | 976 | Buffalo, NY | Not reported |
| KeyBank National Association | 7 | 891 | Cleveland, OH | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 4 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 3 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Community Bank, National Association | 3 | 214 | Canton, NY | Not reported |
| NBT Bank, National Association | 2 | 175 | Norwich, NY | Not reported |
| Pathfinder Bank | 2 | 13 | Oswego, NY | Not reported |
| Solvay Bank | 2 | 10 | Solvay, NY | Not reported |
| Citizens Bank, National Association | 1 | 981 | Providence, RI | Not reported |
| Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association | 1 | 1 | Syracuse, NY | Not reported |
| The Canandaigua National Bank and Trust Company | 1 | 28 | Canandaigua, NY | Not reported |
| Tompkins Bank & Trust | 1 | 59 | Ithaca, NY | Not reported |
| Tompkins Community Bank | 1 | 58 | Ithaca, NY | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
How to read the banks in Syracuse numbers
Start with one distinction: what we publish for Syracuse, NY are medians, not averages.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 37 and institutions represented of 13.
Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.
Turning the Syracuse, NY data into a decision
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Syracuse, NY and how it sits inside New York against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of New York.
A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.
The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.
How Syracuse, NY compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Syracuse, NY against New York and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
Questions people ask about Syracuse, NY
How current is the banks in Syracuse data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Syracuse, NY?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 37.
Sources, method and limits
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in New York
Methodology
The 37 branches listed for Syracuse come from the federal branch files, filtered to Syracuse, NY and matched to the 13 institutions we hold profiles for.
37 of the 37 Syracuse records carry a street address and 37 carry coordinates, which is how the 8.9-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company is the largest presence in Syracuse with 9 of the 37 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.