Banks in Missoula, MT

Banks in Missoula, MT: 28 branches on record from 10 federally insured institutions, spread over 4 ZIP codes and 9.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Missoula, MT

Branches on file
28
Institutions present
10
ZIP codes covered
4
Furthest two branches
9.2 mi apart

Missoula has 28 bank branches on file across 10 institutions, and Glacier Bank accounts for 6 of them (21% of the city’s total). 1 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside Montana.

The records carry 28 street addresses and 28 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.8 miles from the centre point of all Missoula branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 59801, 59802, 59804, 59808.

First Montana Bank, Inc., Bank of Montana are headquartered in Missoula itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, U.S. Bank National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 7.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in MissoulaOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Glacier Bank6258Kalispell, MTNot reported
TrailWest Bank515Lolo, MTNot reported
First Interstate Bank3240Billings, MTNot reported
Stockman Bank of Montana347Miles City, MTNot reported
Farmers State Bank211Victor, MTNot reported
First Montana Bank, Inc.210Missoula, MTNot reported
Opportunity Bank of Montana230Helena, MTNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association21,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association24,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of Montana11Missoula, MTNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Missoula figures actually show

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Missoula, MT are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 28 and institutions represented of 10.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Missoula, MT matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Missoula, MT and how it sits inside Montana against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Montana.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

How Missoula, MT compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Missoula, MT against Montana and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Frequently asked questions about Missoula, MT

How current is the banks in Missoula data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Missoula, MT?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 28.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Montana

Methodology

The 28 branches listed for Missoula come from the federal branch files, filtered to Missoula, MT and matched to the 10 institutions we hold profiles for.

28 of the 28 Missoula records carry a street address and 28 carry coordinates, which is how the 9.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Glacier Bank is the largest presence in Missoula with 6 of the 28 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.