Banks in Dorchester, MA

Banks in Dorchester, MA: 14 branches on record from 7 federally insured institutions, spread over 4 ZIP codes and 3.1 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Dorchester, MA

Branches on file
14
Institutions present
7
ZIP codes covered
4
Furthest two branches
3.1 mi apart

Dorchester has 14 bank branches on file across 7 institutions, and Bank of America, National Association accounts for 4 of them (29% of the city’s total). 4 of those institutions keep a single office here. 4 are headquartered inside Massachusetts.

The records carry 14 street addresses and 14 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1 miles from the centre point of all Dorchester branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 02121, 02122, 02124, 02125.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in DorchesterOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Bank of America, National Association43,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Citizens Bank, National Association4981Providence, RINot reported
Rockland Trust Company2151Rockland, MANot reported
Cambridge Savings Bank121Cambridge, MANot reported
Eastern Bank1132Boston, MANot reported
OneUnited Bank15Boston, MANot reported
Santander Bank, N.A.1559Wilmington, DENot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Dorchester figures actually show

Every figure on this page for Dorchester, MA is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 14 and institutions represented of 7.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Why the spread around Dorchester, MA matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Dorchester, MA and how it sits inside Massachusetts against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Massachusetts.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Putting Dorchester, MA next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Dorchester, MA against Massachusetts and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Questions people ask about Dorchester, MA

How current is the banks in Dorchester data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Dorchester, MA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 14.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Massachusetts

Methodology

The 14 branches listed for Dorchester come from the federal branch files, filtered to Dorchester, MA and matched to the 7 institutions we hold profiles for.

14 of the 14 Dorchester records carry a street address and 14 carry coordinates, which is how the 3.1-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Bank of America, National Association is the largest presence in Dorchester with 4 of the 14 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.