Banks in Baton Rouge, LA
Banks in Baton Rouge, LA: 113 branches on record from 35 federally insured institutions, spread over 16 ZIP codes and 15.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Baton Rouge, LA
Baton Rouge has 113 bank branches on file across 35 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 16 of them (14% of the city’s total). 15 of those institutions keep a single office here. 26 are headquartered inside Louisiana.
The records carry 113 street addresses and 113 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3.6 miles from the centre point of all Baton Rouge branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 70801, 70802, 70805, 70806, 70807, 70808, 70809, 70810, 70811, 70814, 70815, 70816 and 4 more.
b1BANK, Investar Bank, National Association, Currency Bank, First National Banker's Bank are headquartered in Baton Rouge itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Baton Rouge | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 16 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Hancock Whitney Bank | 12 | 193 | Gulfport, MS | Not reported |
| Regions Bank | 12 | 1,254 | Birmingham, AL | Not reported |
| Capital One, National Association | 7 | 249 | Mclean, VA | Not reported |
| First Horizon Bank | 6 | 414 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| b1BANK | 5 | 63 | Baton Rouge, LA | Not reported |
| Home Bank, National Association | 5 | 44 | Lafayette, LA | Not reported |
| Red River Bank | 5 | 28 | Alexandria, LA | Not reported |
| Citizens Bank & Trust Company | 4 | 7 | Plaquemine, LA | Not reported |
| Investar Bank, National Association | 4 | 38 | Baton Rouge, LA | Not reported |
| Gulf Coast Bank and Trust Company | 3 | 39 | New Orleans, LA | Not reported |
| The Huntington National Bank | 3 | 1,505 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| BankPlus | 2 | 74 | Belzoni, MS | Not reported |
| Concordia Bank & Trust Company | 2 | 9 | Vidalia, LA | Not reported |
| FIDELITY BANK | 2 | 27 | New Orleans, LA | Not reported |
| JD Bank | 2 | 25 | Jennings, LA | Not reported |
| Liberty Bank and Trust Company | 2 | 17 | New Orleans, LA | Not reported |
| Renasant Bank | 2 | 265 | Tupelo, MS | Not reported |
| Synergy Bank | 2 | 10 | Houma, LA | Not reported |
| United Community Bank | 2 | 11 | Raceland, LA | Not reported |
| Anthem Bank & Trust | 1 | 4 | Plaquemine, LA | Not reported |
| Bank of St. Francisville | 1 | 2 | Saint Francisville, LA | Not reported |
| Bank of Zachary | 1 | 5 | Zachary, LA | Not reported |
| Bonvenu Bank, National Association | 1 | 15 | Bossier City, LA | Not reported |
| Cottonport Bank | 1 | 13 | Cottonport, LA | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
What the banks in Baton Rouge figures actually show
The numbers published here for Baton Rouge, LA are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 113 and institutions represented of 35.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Baton Rouge, LA and how it sits inside Louisiana against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Louisiana.
A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.
The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.
A short checklist before you act
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
How Baton Rouge, LA compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Baton Rouge, LA against Louisiana and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
Frequently asked questions about Baton Rouge, LA
How current is the banks in Baton Rouge data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Baton Rouge, LA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 113.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Louisiana
Methodology
The 113 branches listed for Baton Rouge come from the federal branch files, filtered to Baton Rouge, LA and matched to the 35 institutions we hold profiles for.
113 of the 113 Baton Rouge records carry a street address and 113 carry coordinates, which is how the 15.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Baton Rouge with 16 of the 113 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.