Banks in Lexington, KY
Banks in Lexington, KY: 118 branches on record from 33 federally insured institutions, spread over 10 ZIP codes and 13.1 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Lexington, KY
Lexington has 118 bank branches on file across 33 institutions, and Central Bank & Trust Co. accounts for 12 of them (10% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 19 are headquartered inside Kentucky.
The records carry 118 street addresses and 118 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.8 miles from the centre point of all Lexington branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 40502, 40503, 40504, 40505, 40507, 40509, 40511, 40513, 40517, 40526.
Central Bank & Trust Co., Bank of Lexington, Inc., Bank of the Bluegrass and Trust Company, Whitaker Bank, Forcht Bank, National Association are headquartered in Lexington itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Lexington | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central Bank & Trust Co. | 12 | 29 | Lexington, KY | Not reported |
| Fifth Third Bank, National Association | 11 | 1,521 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 11 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 8 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Community Trust Bank, Inc. | 6 | 78 | Pikeville, KY | Not reported |
| Republic Bank & Trust Company | 5 | 48 | Louisville, KY | Not reported |
| Stock Yards Bank & Trust Company | 5 | 84 | Louisville, KY | Not reported |
| Traditional Bank, Inc. | 5 | 19 | Mount Sterling, KY | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 5 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 4 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Bank of Lexington, Inc. | 4 | 4 | Lexington, KY | Not reported |
| Bank of the Bluegrass and Trust Company | 4 | 4 | Lexington, KY | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 4 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Whitaker Bank | 4 | 46 | Lexington, KY | Not reported |
| City National Bank of West Virginia | 3 | 96 | Charleston, WV | Not reported |
| Forcht Bank, National Association | 3 | 22 | Lexington, KY | Not reported |
| Cumberland Valley National Bank & Trust Company | 2 | 14 | London, KY | Not reported |
| First Southern National Bank | 2 | 15 | Lancaster, KY | Not reported |
| Guardian Savings Bank | 2 | 13 | West Chester, OH | Not reported |
| Peoples Bank | 2 | 132 | Marietta, OH | Not reported |
| The Home Savings and Loan Company of Kenton, Ohio, DBA HSLC | 2 | 3 | Kenton, OH | Not reported |
| WesBanco Bank, Inc. | 2 | 219 | Wheeling, WV | Not reported |
| Woodforest National Bank | 2 | 741 | The Woodlands, TX | Not reported |
| Bank of England | 1 | 145 | England, AR | Not reported |
| Bank of Hindman | 1 | 3 | Hindman, KY | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
What the banks in Lexington figures actually show
Start with one distinction: what we publish for Lexington, KY are medians, not averages.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 118 and institutions represented of 33.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Lexington, KY and how it sits inside Kentucky against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Kentucky.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
Putting Lexington, KY next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Lexington, KY against Kentucky and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
Common questions
How current is the banks in Lexington data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Lexington, KY?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 118.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Kentucky
Methodology
The 118 branches listed for Lexington come from the federal branch files, filtered to Lexington, KY and matched to the 33 institutions we hold profiles for.
118 of the 118 Lexington records carry a street address and 118 carry coordinates, which is how the 13.1-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Central Bank & Trust Co. is the largest presence in Lexington with 12 of the 118 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.