Banks in Marshalltown, IA
Banks in Marshalltown, IA: 12 branches on record from 9 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 2.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Marshalltown, IA
Marshalltown has 12 bank branches on file across 9 institutions, and Farmers Savings Bank accounts for 2 of them (17% of the city’s total). 6 of those institutions keep a single office here. 5 are headquartered inside Iowa.
The records carry 12 street addresses and 12 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.1 miles from the centre point of all Marshalltown branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 50158.
Farmers Savings Bank, United Bank & Trust Co., Citizens Savings Bank, Pinnacle Bank are headquartered in Marshalltown itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, U.S. Bank National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 7.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Marshalltown | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Farmers Savings Bank | 2 | 3 | Marshalltown, IA | Not reported |
| First Interstate Bank | 2 | 240 | Billings, MT | Not reported |
| United Bank & Trust Co. | 2 | 2 | Marshalltown, IA | Not reported |
| Alerus Financial, National Association | 1 | 27 | Grand Forks, ND | Not reported |
| Citizens Savings Bank | 1 | 3 | Marshalltown, IA | Not reported |
| GNB Bank | 1 | 9 | Grundy Center, IA | Not reported |
| Pinnacle Bank | 1 | 1 | Marshalltown, IA | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 1 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 1 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
Reading the banks in Marshalltown data on this page
The numbers published here for Marshalltown, IA are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 12 and institutions represented of 9.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Marshalltown, IA and how it sits inside Iowa against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Iowa.
Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.
The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
Putting Marshalltown, IA next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Marshalltown, IA against Iowa and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
Common questions
How current is the banks in Marshalltown data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Marshalltown, IA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 12.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Iowa
Methodology
The 12 branches listed for Marshalltown come from the federal branch files, filtered to Marshalltown, IA and matched to the 9 institutions we hold profiles for.
12 of the 12 Marshalltown records carry a street address and 12 carry coordinates, which is how the 2.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Farmers Savings Bank is the largest presence in Marshalltown with 2 of the 12 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.