Banks in Mount Prospect, IL

Banks in Mount Prospect, IL: 18 branches on record from 11 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 4.3 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Mount Prospect, IL

Branches on file
18
Institutions present
11
ZIP codes covered
1
Furthest two branches
4.3 mi apart

Mount Prospect has 18 bank branches on file across 11 institutions, and The Huntington National Bank accounts for 3 of them (17% of the city’s total). 5 of those institutions keep a single office here. 5 are headquartered inside Illinois.

The records carry 18 street addresses and 18 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.2 miles from the centre point of all Mount Prospect branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 60056.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Mount ProspectOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
The Huntington National Bank31,505Columbus, OHNot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association21,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association25,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Parkway Bank and Trust Company227Harwood Heights, ILNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association22,404Wilmington, DENot reported
BMO Bank National Association1967Chicago, ILNot reported
Busey Bank181Champaign, ILNot reported
Lakeside Bank111Chicago, ILNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association11,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Village Bank and Trust, National Association18Arlington Heights, ILNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Mount Prospect numbers

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Mount Prospect, IL are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 18 and institutions represented of 11.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Mount Prospect, IL matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Mount Prospect, IL and how it sits inside Illinois against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Illinois.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Where Mount Prospect, IL sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Mount Prospect, IL against Illinois and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Frequently asked questions about Mount Prospect, IL

How current is the banks in Mount Prospect data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Mount Prospect, IL?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 18.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Illinois

Methodology

The 18 branches listed for Mount Prospect come from the federal branch files, filtered to Mount Prospect, IL and matched to the 11 institutions we hold profiles for.

18 of the 18 Mount Prospect records carry a street address and 18 carry coordinates, which is how the 4.3-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

The Huntington National Bank is the largest presence in Mount Prospect with 3 of the 18 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.