Banks in Wilmington, DE

Banks in Wilmington, DE: 76 branches on record from 22 federally insured institutions, spread over 10 ZIP codes and 12.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Wilmington, DE

Branches on file
76
Institutions present
22
ZIP codes covered
10
Furthest two branches
12.4 mi apart

Wilmington has 76 bank branches on file across 22 institutions, and PNC Bank, National Association accounts for 9 of them (12% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 12 are headquartered inside Delaware.

The records carry 76 street addresses and 76 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3.2 miles from the centre point of all Wilmington branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 18902, 19801, 19802, 19803, 19805, 19806, 19807, 19808, 19809, 19810.

PNC Bank, National Association, Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB, Artisans' Bank, TD Bank, National Association, Wilmington Trust, National Association, Applied Bank, Barclays Bank Delaware, BNY Mellon Trust of Delaware, Comenity Bank, HSBC Trust Company (Delaware), National Association, Santander Bank, N.A., TD Bank USA, National Association are headquartered in Wilmington itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in WilmingtonOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
PNC Bank, National Association92,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB995Wilmington, DENot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association85,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company8976Buffalo, NYNot reported
Bank of America, National Association63,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Citizens Bank, National Association6981Providence, RINot reported
Artisans' Bank511Wilmington, DENot reported
TD Bank, National Association41,051Wilmington, DENot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association44,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Fulton Bank, National Association3227Lancaster, PANot reported
First Citizens Community Bank244Mansfield, PANot reported
Wilmington Trust, National Association241Wilmington, DENot reported
Applied Bank12Wilmington, DENot reported
Barclays Bank Delaware11Wilmington, DENot reported
BNY Mellon Trust of Delaware11Wilmington, DENot reported
Capital One, National Association1249Mclean, VANot reported
CIBC National Trust Company116Atlanta, GANot reported
Comenity Bank11Wilmington, DENot reported
Cross River Bank12Fort Lee, NJNot reported
HSBC Trust Company (Delaware), National Association11Wilmington, DENot reported
Santander Bank, N.A.1559Wilmington, DENot reported
TD Bank USA, National Association11Wilmington, DENot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Wilmington numbers

Every figure on this page for Wilmington, DE is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 76 and institutions represented of 22.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Wilmington, DE and how it sits inside Delaware against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Delaware.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

How Wilmington, DE compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Wilmington, DE against Delaware and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Frequently asked questions about Wilmington, DE

How current is the banks in Wilmington data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Wilmington, DE?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 76.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Delaware

Methodology

The 76 branches listed for Wilmington come from the federal branch files, filtered to Wilmington, DE and matched to the 22 institutions we hold profiles for.

76 of the 76 Wilmington records carry a street address and 76 carry coordinates, which is how the 12.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

PNC Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Wilmington with 9 of the 76 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.