ATM in Rapid City, SD

ATM in Rapid City, SD: 20 branch locations on record from 10 federally insured institutions, spread over 3 ZIP codes and 6.1 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Rapid City, SD

Branches on file
20
Institutions present
10
ZIP codes covered
3
Furthest two branches
6.1 mi apart

Rapid City has 20 bank branches on file across 10 institutions, and First Interstate Bank accounts for 4 of them (20% of the city’s total). 4 of those institutions keep a single office here. 7 are headquartered inside South Dakota.

The records carry 20 street addresses and 20 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.1 miles from the centre point of all Rapid City branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 57701, 57702, 57703.

Black Hills Community Bank, N.A., First Western Federal Savings Bank are headquartered in Rapid City itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, U.S. Bank National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 7.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Rapid CityOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
First Interstate Bank4240Billings, MTNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association31,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association34,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
BankWest, Inc.220Pierre, SDNot reported
Pioneer Bank & Trust27Belle Fourche, SDNot reported
Security First Bank237Lincoln, NENot reported
Black Hills Community Bank, N.A.12Rapid City, SDNot reported
Dacotah Bank132Aberdeen, SDNot reported
First National Bank119Fort Pierre, SDNot reported
First Western Federal Savings Bank11Rapid City, SDNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Rapid City numbers

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Rapid City, SD are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 20 and institutions represented of 10.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Turning the Rapid City, SD data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Rapid City, SD and how it sits inside South Dakota against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of South Dakota.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Where Rapid City, SD sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Rapid City, SD against South Dakota and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Frequently asked questions about Rapid City, SD

How current is the atm in Rapid City data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Rapid City, SD?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 20.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in South Dakota

Methodology

The 20 branch locations listed for Rapid City come from the federal branch files, filtered to Rapid City, SD and matched to the 10 institutions we hold profiles for.

20 of the 20 Rapid City records carry a street address and 20 carry coordinates, which is how the 6.1-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

First Interstate Bank is the largest presence in Rapid City with 4 of the 20 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.