ATM in Fargo, ND

ATM in Fargo, ND: 55 branch locations on record from 23 federally insured institutions, spread over 3 ZIP codes and 8.1 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Fargo, ND

Branches on file
55
Institutions present
23
ZIP codes covered
3
Furthest two branches
8.1 mi apart

Fargo has 55 bank branches on file across 23 institutions, and Gate City Bank accounts for 9 of them (16% of the city’s total). 11 of those institutions keep a single office here. 17 are headquartered inside North Dakota.

The records carry 55 street addresses and 55 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.2 miles from the centre point of all Fargo branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 58102, 58103, 58104.

Gate City Bank, Bell Bank, American Federal Bank, Border Bank, Aspire Bank, Bank Forward, Choice Financial Group, Cornerstone Bank are headquartered in Fargo itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in FargoOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Gate City Bank945Fargo, NDNot reported
Bell Bank833Fargo, NDNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association61,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association35,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Starion Bank316Bismarck, NDNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association34,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Alerus Financial, National Association227Grand Forks, NDNot reported
American Federal Bank213Fargo, NDNot reported
Border Bank211Fargo, NDNot reported
Bravera Bank235Dickinson, NDNot reported
First International Bank & Trust228Watford City, NDNot reported
First Western Bank & Trust220Minot, NDNot reported
Aspire Bank12Fargo, NDNot reported
Bank Forward112Fargo, NDNot reported
BMO Bank National Association1967Chicago, ILNot reported
Choice Financial Group118Fargo, NDNot reported
Cornerstone Bank112Fargo, NDNot reported
Dacotah Bank132Aberdeen, SDNot reported
First United Bank119Park River, NDNot reported
KodaBank112Drayton, NDNot reported
Old National Bank1358Evansville, INNot reported
United Valley Bank19Cavalier, NDNot reported
Western State Bank110Devils Lake, NDNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Fargo numbers

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Fargo, ND are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 55 and institutions represented of 23.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Fargo, ND and how it sits inside North Dakota against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of North Dakota.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

How Fargo, ND compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Fargo, ND against North Dakota and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Common questions

How current is the atm in Fargo data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Fargo, ND?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 55.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in North Dakota

Methodology

The 55 branch locations listed for Fargo come from the federal branch files, filtered to Fargo, ND and matched to the 23 institutions we hold profiles for.

55 of the 55 Fargo records carry a street address and 55 carry coordinates, which is how the 8.1-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Gate City Bank is the largest presence in Fargo with 9 of the 55 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.