ATM in Brooklyn, NY
ATM in Brooklyn, NY: 339 branch locations on record from 41 federally insured institutions, spread over 40 ZIP codes and 10.9 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Brooklyn, NY
Brooklyn has 339 bank branches on file across 41 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 65 of them (19% of the city’s total). 14 of those institutions keep a single office here. 21 are headquartered inside New York.
The records carry 339 street addresses and 339 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.9 miles from the centre point of all Brooklyn branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 11201, 11203, 11204, 11205, 11206, 11207, 11208, 11209, 11210, 11211, 11212, 11213 and 28 more.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Brooklyn | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 65 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 32 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| TD Bank, National Association | 31 | 1,051 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Citibank, National Association | 27 | 665 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Santander Bank, N.A. | 24 | 559 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Citizens Bank, National Association | 19 | 981 | Providence, RI | Not reported |
| Apple Bank | 17 | 78 | New York, NY | Not reported |
| Capital One, National Association | 14 | 249 | Mclean, VA | Not reported |
| Flagstar Bank, National Association | 10 | 345 | Hicksville, NY | Not reported |
| Columbia Bank | 8 | 107 | Fair Lawn, NJ | Not reported |
| Dime Commercial Bank | 8 | 63 | Hauppauge, NY | Not reported |
| Northfield Bank | 8 | 37 | Staten Island, NY | Not reported |
| Valley National Bank | 8 | 232 | Passaic, NJ | Not reported |
| Webster Bank, National Association | 8 | 194 | Stamford, CT | Not reported |
| OceanFirst Bank, National Association | 6 | 73 | Toms River, NJ | Not reported |
| Popular Bank | 6 | 36 | New York, NY | Not reported |
| Ridgewood Savings Bank | 6 | 37 | Ridgewood, NY | Not reported |
| Carver Federal Savings Bank | 4 | 7 | New York, NY | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 4 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Alma Bank | 3 | 15 | Astoria, NY | Not reported |
| Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company | 3 | 976 | Buffalo, NY | Not reported |
| Ponce Bank, National Association | 3 | 13 | Bronx, NY | Not reported |
| Royal Business Bank | 3 | 25 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| Cathay Bank | 2 | 66 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| East West Bank | 2 | 96 | Pasadena, CA | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.
If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a national ATM database?
No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.
How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?
Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.
Reading the atm in Brooklyn data on this page
The numbers published here for Brooklyn, NY are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 339 and institutions represented of 41.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
Why the spread around Brooklyn, NY matters
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Brooklyn, NY and how it sits inside New York against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of New York.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.
A short checklist before you act
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
How Brooklyn, NY compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Brooklyn, NY against New York and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
Frequently asked questions about Brooklyn, NY
How current is the atm in Brooklyn data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Brooklyn, NY?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 339.
How we built this page
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in New York
Methodology
The 339 branch locations listed for Brooklyn come from the federal branch files, filtered to Brooklyn, NY and matched to the 41 institutions we hold profiles for.
339 of the 339 Brooklyn records carry a street address and 339 carry coordinates, which is how the 10.9-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Brooklyn with 65 of the 339 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.