ATM in Skokie, IL

ATM in Skokie, IL: 25 branch locations on record from 16 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 3.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Skokie, IL

Branches on file
25
Institutions present
16
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
3.5 mi apart

Skokie has 25 bank branches on file across 16 institutions, and Bank of America, National Association accounts for 3 of them (12% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside Illinois.

The records carry 25 street addresses and 25 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.3 miles from the centre point of all Skokie branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 60076, 60077.

1st Equity Bank is headquartered in Skokie itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in SkokieOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Bank of America, National Association33,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association31,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association35,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Byline Bank255Chicago, ILNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association22,404Wilmington, DENot reported
U.S. Bank National Association21,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
1st Equity Bank11Skokie, ILNot reported
Albank National Association14Chicago, ILNot reported
Bank of Hope178Los Angeles, CANot reported
BMO Bank National Association1967Chicago, ILNot reported
Brickyard Bank13Lincolnwood, ILNot reported
Citibank, National Association1665Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
First American Bank157Elk Grove Village, ILNot reported
First Bank Chicago14Highland Park, ILNot reported
The Huntington National Bank11,505Columbus, OHNot reported
Wintrust Bank, National Association138Chicago, ILNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

What the atm in Skokie figures actually show

Every figure on this page for Skokie, IL is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 25 and institutions represented of 16.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Turning the Skokie, IL data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Skokie, IL and how it sits inside Illinois against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Illinois.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

Where Skokie, IL sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Skokie, IL against Illinois and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Common questions

How current is the atm in Skokie data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Skokie, IL?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 25.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Illinois

Methodology

The 25 branch locations listed for Skokie come from the federal branch files, filtered to Skokie, IL and matched to the 16 institutions we hold profiles for.

25 of the 25 Skokie records carry a street address and 25 carry coordinates, which is how the 3.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Bank of America, National Association is the largest presence in Skokie with 3 of the 25 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.